Mexican Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I hosted a dinner party of 9 and made a big pot of tortilla soup for the main course. I thought this salad would go nicely with it because of the title "Mexican". It was tasty but I was disappointed that it did not even remotely taste Mexican. I could not even taste the green chiles that were baked in the cornbread. I upped the green onions to 4 and used 1 can of black beans instead of pinto. If I make it again I will spice up the ranch dressing with chile powder and perhaps use a chunky salsa in place of the tomatoes. Might even sub taco meat for the bacon. With these changes this salad would live up to it's name. Made as is it's just Cornbread Salad IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is amazing!! I made modifications but still give it 5 stars. I used spicy ranch drsg, hearts of romaine (I don't like green pepper), omitted bacon bits and used 1/2 purple onion instead of green onion. I actually made 2 batches.. just one layer of each of everything in a 9x13 pan. One with black beans and dusted it with cumin, garlic powder and chili powder halfway through layering. The other was with pinto beans and I also spread it with my homemade salsa. Took them both to work and they demolished the whole pan with the salsa in it and half of the other! The next shift took care of the other half. Have had numerous requests for the recipe after just making it once. Thank you for this awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy1166

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I made this for my annual block party and it was delicious! I didn't change a thing and got nothing but rave reviews from everyone and recipe requests. Will definitely make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This was good. Instead of the ranch dressing, I used a ranch salsa mix, and only sprinkled some of it on it, and served the rest on the side. I also used fresh corn on the cob. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CGG
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Everyone loved this salad. I cut the recipe in half and still had a big salad. Nice flavors that got better every day. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CGG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was absolutely wonderful. I divided it in half when preparing and I took it to two different parties. Everyone loved it and I have had several requests for the recipe. This will be a staple at my parties from now on. Thanksfor sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Mason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Really good. We made it and served it the same day. It was good. But once it sat over night, it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Made this over the weekend. It was a big hit. Because I was serving it as an appetizer and the main dish was chili, I did substitute the kidney beans for black beans. I also used real bacon. Other than that, I kept everything the same and it was fantastic. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I made this for a dinner party to serve with chicken tacos and it was a smash. Even better the next day, after the flavors had a chance to blend overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I was sick of bringing the same old side dishes to pot lucks. This was the perfect cure. It was delicious! Many of those who tried it loved it. Lots of people were hesitant, because they just didn't know what it was. It does make A LOT. I brought it to a pot luck BBQ with over 20 people and half of the recipe would have sufficed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States