Mexican Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was a fun dish to take to a potluck. It looked awesome layered in my trifle bowl! I cubed my cornbread rather than crumbling. It made for nice presentation. I used a homemade ranch dressing that was yogurt based to save on calories and fat. Next time, I'll use more dressing. It needed a bit more than 16 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This sounded awful but was the best salad I've had in a long time very different and good for a family gathering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loretta
Home Town: Kingsland, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Waskom, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Delicious - a great way to use leftover cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This was delicious!! To make this a little lighter, I made my own dressing w/the ranch packet, greek yogurt and 1% milk. I cut the cheese down to just sprinkling it on top and didn't use the bacon. I did use the corn with the red and green pepper in it too. It was so moist and full of flavor! A definite keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is a delicious, flexible, yummy recipe! I used a Jiffy corn bread mix with about 3/4 of a 7 oz can of diced green chilies and an additional 1/2 tsp cumin. I used black beans and real bacon. My dressing was Marie's Creamy Ranch Dressing, and the corn was Trader Joe's fire roasted frozen corn. A half a batch was perfect for eight people with lots of other food available, and we all had a little leftover for tomorrow. This is exactly the type of recipe I love because it lends itself so well to variations of all sorts. It was very yummy, and I recommend it without reservations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
was delish... used half pinto half black beans. I also added cheyyene and cumin to a ranch packet.. made a huuggee bowl... was afraid I'd be stuck with a bunch of left overs but it was all gone.. fast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linley1120

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Great recipe, never fails to impress. I make my own cornbread and use bottled Kraft Peppercorn Ranch dresing, sometimes shredded chicken instead of bacon. Easily becomes no meat version for vegetarians and if you check for a cornbread recipe with corn meal only...it is a great salad for celiacs or those who prefer a diet that is gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Our family loved it! Great meal on 100 degree days! I used jalepeno ranch dressing and chunky salsa (medium hotness). I make my own cornbread so did not use the package. The cornbread can be made evening before, and throw salad together the next morning. Saved me time! Next time I will use shredded cold chicken instead of the bacon. Like the flexibility of adding avocado, jalepenos, or sour cream if individuals want to their own plates, but we thought it was filling enough without it. Made enough for left-overs the next night. Thanks for sharing! This is going in my favorite recipe box and I have shared with two people so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Kemp, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
We love this salad. It has such wonderful ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Followed exactly-was good not great. Good starting point for a recipe, could make this my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States