Mexican Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Very disappointed. This looks so pretty. Served it at a birthday party. Out of 10 adults only 1 said it was just okay.I guess it depends on personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I made this for a recent neighborhood get together. When I first tried it I wasn't all that crazy about it but the leftovers (2-3 days later) are so so good. I used black beans, salsa instead of tomatoes, mexicorn and a spicy ranch dressing. I didn't use the entire bottle as I think that would have made it too soggy. My vegetarian daughter (I didn't use any bacon) went crazy over it as did my granddaughter. It makes a TON so unless you're feeding a crowd or will eat the leftovers (I highly recommend that), you'll need to only make 1/2 the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I cooked up some crispt bacon instead of using bacon bits and it was fantastic. This is the third recipe for Cornbreat Salad that I've made and it is now THE recipe that I will use. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Was fantastic! Pls make your own ranch as others suggest! (Try - low fat buttermilk ranch dressing). Will 100% make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is a really good recipe. The variety of ingredients makes it interesting and unique. I made my own cornbread - personal preference. I also used black beans instead of pinto beans - another personal preference. I believe those changes were positive for our tastes. In my opinion this is a very versatile recipe. For those who want more of a spicy Mexican taste (including me) that is easy to accomplish. You could mix in Salsa of any kind and/or seasonings of your choice to the bean layer, for example. You can add much more spice to the cornbread. You can use corn with peppers and you could mix Ro-tel in with the tomato layer. Of course, you could use a chipotle or other spicy dressing in place of the ranch or even substitute salsa. in the future, I'll try a variety of those to determine what we might like best. As is, though, the recipe is good - and probably sufficiently spicy if you have sensitive eaters or simply are serving to people who might not care for 'spice'. It tastes better the 2nd day after the flavors blend, and the corn bread holds its own against the moisture of the other ingredients. After you make the cornbread, the rest of it goes together in a flash. A solid recipe - thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
On of my favorites and always a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Made this for the first time last weekend, for a fundraiser at our local community center. It was a big hit. Brought some home to snack on the next day, and let the Hubby try it. And he loved it. Making a bowl up for us to have this weekend. It's awesome. The only thing I did different was make my ranch from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Texas, USA
Living In: Appleton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Very good, will make again. Even better if you make your own cornbread and ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Another Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was a fun dish to take to a potluck. It looked awesome layered in my trifle bowl! I cubed my cornbread rather than crumbling. It made for nice presentation. I used a homemade ranch dressing that was yogurt based to save on calories and fat. Next time, I'll use more dressing. It needed a bit more than 16 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States