Mexican Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I added about 1.5lbs of meat, tomato paste like was mentioned above, no water at all, a lot more chili powder and diced up some chipotles in adobo sauce for the kick it was lacking!!!!! I also added 27oz pinto beans instead of kidney beans. Very good and quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Need to only use half the cream corn or double every thing else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I've been asked to bring this to every family gathering since I first tried it! I usually omit the peppers though, as many people in my family don't like them. I've also used a variety of cheese, and have yet to find a bad one. If I remember, I usually mix some honey in too, but it's still great when I forget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I've made this three times to rave reviews. I followed the advise of others and left out the milk, and I did not drain the chilies. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaxMom
Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was sooo tasty! The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 was it seemed a little too moist for cornbread. I will have to try it again and add extra corn meal and see if it lightens up. We served it with a black bean soup and it was soooo good dipped in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I used the Jiffy mix and followed the directions on the box. I then added whole corn (didn't have creamed style) about 1/2 cup, some fresh jalapenos and shredded cheese that has taco seasoning. Super easy. Super cheap. Super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
very disappointed .. taste was OK but the texture of the cornbread was WAY TOO "WET". I think I will stick with the regular cornbread. Texture was more like a "HOT PUDDING" instead of cornbread. I will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
So easy and a great twist on cornbread, especially if you're serving chili or soup. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I doubled the recipe, but after reading the direction on the cornbread muffin/bread mix, I was concerned the batter would be too runny so changed it slightly by reducing the milk to 2/3c. I also, substituted a 12oz can of whole corn for the creamed corn. The texture and flavor was great. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is a recipe that will frequently appear alongside chili in our home. It was very simple to make and the results are wonderful. It is not crumbly, as you would expect with regular cornbread, because the creamed corn makes it soft...almost like a slightly spicy spoonbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States