Mexican Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I'm glad I read the review about the creamed corn. I would have dumped the whole can in there. It calls for 8 oz., but a regular sized can is 14.5 oz. I also replaced the green chiles with canned jalapeños, and used hot pepper blend cheese. It has some kick! But, I like that & I think my changes made it perfect. I'll be serving it with Mexican beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I have tried to eat cornbread many times and have about choked on the dried out crumbs! I LOVED this cornbread. It was moist, delicious, and just plain yummy. It was devoured by all in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I made this last night on a whim, and this was the BEST Mexican Cornbread I have ever had. I made some black beans to go with it and they complimented the cornbread perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Ramey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I added about 1.5lbs of meat, tomato paste like was mentioned above, no water at all, a lot more chili powder and diced up some chipotles in adobo sauce for the kick it was lacking!!!!! I also added 27oz pinto beans instead of kidney beans. Very good and quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Need to only use half the cream corn or double every thing else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I've been asked to bring this to every family gathering since I first tried it! I usually omit the peppers though, as many people in my family don't like them. I've also used a variety of cheese, and have yet to find a bad one. If I remember, I usually mix some honey in too, but it's still great when I forget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I've made this three times to rave reviews. I followed the advise of others and left out the milk, and I did not drain the chilies. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaxMom
Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was sooo tasty! The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 was it seemed a little too moist for cornbread. I will have to try it again and add extra corn meal and see if it lightens up. We served it with a black bean soup and it was soooo good dipped in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I used the Jiffy mix and followed the directions on the box. I then added whole corn (didn't have creamed style) about 1/2 cup, some fresh jalapenos and shredded cheese that has taco seasoning. Super easy. Super cheap. Super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
very disappointed .. taste was OK but the texture of the cornbread was WAY TOO "WET". I think I will stick with the regular cornbread. Texture was more like a "HOT PUDDING" instead of cornbread. I will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States