Mexican Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Very good. Made this last night to go with a pot of homemade chili. I altered it slightly due to ingredients I had on hand. Used 1/2 cup colby jack cheese, 1 tsp sugar (personal preference), 2 TBS of chilies, thawed frozen corn mixed with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I added a teaspoon of sugar as recommended, cut down the cheese slightly, and used chipotle peppers in place of chiles (that's what I had on hand). It turned out fantastic! Great blend of sweet and firey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Delicious and very easy. I used 1/3 cup milk and jalepenos instead of green chilis. Let it sit about 5 minutes before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Just for fun, I baked this in my largest cast iron skillet -- watch the baking time. Also added some diced pimentos, but it was a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
made this last night with the slow cooker chicken taco soup. this cornbread is so moist and flavorful. i didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I used Jiffy cornbread, jalapenos instead of green chilis. I did not have creamed corn, used whole corn, drained and a little sour cream. We loved it!! Its not sweet, but I like the kick of the jalapenos. I would like it cheesier...maybe a little on top right before they are done!! Super cornbread can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVENNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Be aware this is not sweet at all! If you did not want sweet, I could see someone liking this, but we ended up throwing it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Great cornbread! I've been making a similar mexican cornbread for over 20 yrs, after seeing a recipe on your site, i realized my cornbread was LOADED w/fat & calories. We didn't miss the melted butter & sour cream that was in my old recipe.I will definately replace mine w/this one. i added cumin though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Fantastic! I did not change a thing! The cooking time of 25 minutes was superb. For the creamed corn, I actually made it from scratch. I used a recipe from allrecipes.com called Creamed Corn Like No Other. Thanx for the recipe! My spouse thought it was too spicy, however, she cannot handle anything spicy. She did enjoy it though, but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
the best mexican cornbread i have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States