Mexican Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was the tastiest corn bread I've ever made. Have been in search of an easy, moist cornbread for years and finally found it. Normally don't like to use boxed mixes, but happened to have a Jiffy mix on hand so it worked out great. Will keep this on hand for future use. Thanks Bea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This was really easy to make and tasted very good. The only issue is mine came out more like corn pudding than corn bread. Next time I will add another 5-10 minutes to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Yummy and it turned out very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Cagle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
ive madde this twice the first time exactly as directed and it was a little too moist. i combatted that tonight using half as much creamed corn ( freezing the other half the can for next time) and it came out way better. i like this because i can play with it some maybe using cheddar since i dont always have monterey jack in the house but always do cheddar. i did sprinkle the tinsiest amount of cayenne over the top before i baked it and i think it gave it a little something it wasnt hot but it was definitely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was DELICIOUS! I could have skipped the soup I made to go along with this and eaten as it as meal (you know...a very unbalanced one ;). I used a box of Jiffy cornbread mix and a combination of cheddar and mozzarella, since that's what I had on hand. Also sprinkled some extra cheddar on top for the last 5 min or so. This comes out super moist and very flavorful without being very spicy. A new favorite in our home to be sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terressa Broussard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Very good recipe. It's easy and everyone likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is not a bad recipe, it is just ordinary. I couldn't even taste the green chiles in it. I did have to figure out how to substitute for self-rising cornmeal, because my local grocery doesn't carry it, even though it is a major chain. For others who can't find it, the 8.5 oz. package works out to about 1-1/2 cups, to which you need to add 3-3/4 teaspoons of baking powder. I will be going back to the other recipe I have been using. Wish this would have worked out better, because I really like green chiles in my corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
For those who ended up with soggy, mushy cornbread, you may have added too much cream-style corn. The recipe calls for an 8 oz. can, which I've never seen in the stores. I've always bought a 14 oz. can. I used approximately half of a 14 oz. can. I also used a Jiffy corn muffin mix, which happens to weigh 8.5 oz. I believe that this is what the recipe submitter intended since the directions mentions cornmeal mix. I followed the directions on the back of the package (1/3 cup milk and 1 egg) and then added the corn, pepper-Jack cheese, and green chiles. 1/2 cup of milk would be too much. No added sugar needed if using the Jiffy mix since it is plenty sweet. Moist but still able to eat with hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I gave this recipe a 3 star because of the final consistency at the end. It wasn't very cornbread-like which is what I was looking for. I did use the Jiffy Corn Muffin mix and used jalapenos instead of green chiles. I think next time I will use regular corn rather than creamed corn. I think the creamed corn made it too mushy. Other than that I liked the recipe and plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
We just finished trying this wonderful bread. I too thought it was like a cornbread pudding, but I realized I used a 14.75 ounce can of cream corn. Next time I will make it with the right amount of cream corn, 8 ounces. We still loved the flavor but we had to eat it with a fork. I added a teaspoon of pimentos and used fresh jalapenos. It looked Christmasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States