Mexican Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
I used a box of Jiffy Corn Muffin mix and follwed the directions on the box added the remaining ingredients and baked. Was very tasteful. My husband even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
I was browsing around and came across this recipe so I decided to try it. I haven't had Mexican cornbread in ages. This was soooo good! I couldn't find just a pkg of monterey chesse so I got cheddar and monterey. Delicious! It's so easy it's scarey! I plan on taking some to work with me because if I don't I will end up eating the whole pan! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Very good! It was very easy to make. I only added half the can of green chilis and I think it could have used a dash of sugar, but it was still delicious and very moist. I baked it in a small skillet and it took 30 min. to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
For those who ended up with soggy, mushy cornbread, you may have added too much cream-style corn. The recipe calls for an 8 oz. can, which I've never seen in the stores. I've always bought a 14 oz. can. I used approximately half of a 14 oz. can. I also used a Jiffy corn muffin mix, which happens to weigh 8.5 oz. I believe that this is what the recipe submitter intended since the directions mentions cornmeal mix. I followed the directions on the back of the package (1/3 cup milk and 1 egg) and then added the corn, pepper-Jack cheese, and green chiles. 1/2 cup of milk would be too much. No added sugar needed if using the Jiffy mix since it is plenty sweet. Moist but still able to eat with hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Great cornbread! I've been making a similar mexican cornbread for over 20 yrs, after seeing a recipe on your site, i realized my cornbread was LOADED w/fat & calories. We didn't miss the melted butter & sour cream that was in my old recipe.I will definately replace mine w/this one. i added cumin though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Very good and easy. Next time, I will add a teaspoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
Very yummy, not too spicy. Everyone loved it, even the people who won't eat "hot" foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This recipe is excellent!!! It is a very moist but still great. I used peppperjack cheese and the Jiffy cornbread mix. I make this for my husband quite often. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This was very good and easy. I agree that a little sugar would improve it. Next time I will add some diced jalapeno pepper to spice it up a bit more. I will definitely use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This was pretty good although I added fresh jalapenos and I think next time I make it I may mashh a can of regular corn rather than add the creamed corn. Tastes good but recipe tends to come out a little more like bread pudding??? I also added a little extra corn meal to try and stiffen mixture up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States