Mexican Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I used Jiffy cornbread, jalapenos instead of green chilis. I did not have creamed corn, used whole corn, drained and a little sour cream. We loved it!! Its not sweet, but I like the kick of the jalapenos. I would like it cheesier...maybe a little on top right before they are done!! Super cornbread can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVENNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Be aware this is not sweet at all! If you did not want sweet, I could see someone liking this, but we ended up throwing it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Great cornbread! I've been making a similar mexican cornbread for over 20 yrs, after seeing a recipe on your site, i realized my cornbread was LOADED w/fat & calories. We didn't miss the melted butter & sour cream that was in my old recipe.I will definately replace mine w/this one. i added cumin though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Fantastic! I did not change a thing! The cooking time of 25 minutes was superb. For the creamed corn, I actually made it from scratch. I used a recipe from allrecipes.com called Creamed Corn Like No Other. Thanx for the recipe! My spouse thought it was too spicy, however, she cannot handle anything spicy. She did enjoy it though, but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
the best mexican cornbread i have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
forgot to metion I still used the one can of creamed corn - sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINAFNV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
This a way better alternative to basic cornbread. It is a nice accompaniment to chili on a cold winter day. I do try to cut down on the wet ingredients for better baking and I noticed they do not stay as fresh as long as other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
I did something wrong and didn't turn out; it cooked wrong, but tasted great. Just make sure you don't add to much water. The recipe is excellent. I will be making this again, but more carefully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This recipe was pretty tasty! My sister's fiancé could not put it down when I made this for our Mexican dinner night a few weeks ago. I will definitely be making this again. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaireli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marengo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Nice spicey cornbread! I used pepper jack to give it even more of a zing, however, I also added some sugar as I like my bread a bit sweeter. Went over well with the gang Bea and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States