Mexican Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
My husband really liked this cornbread, but I thought it was too moist and heavy. It did get better as it cooled, though. I would have liked it a little sweeter, too. Try Absolute Mexican Cornbread from this website - it is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This mexican cornbread was very good. I was baking it to go with my blackeyed peas and ham on New Years Day so I doubled the recipe. The only thing was I only added one can of the chile peppers because I was afraid it would be too much heat - no it would have been fine with two cans. Also when I baked it I used the cornstick iron skillet and the small iron skillet and put a little extra cheese on top at the end of baking. It turned out perfect, moist and tender on the inside and super crunchy on the outside - with a great kick but could have used a little more heat if I had the guts and added the 2nd can of chilis. This was gone the same day even though I was hoping to take some to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This cornbread was delicious! However, I can not rate it 5 stars because I made some changes, and without them, this would not have been as good, in my opinion. I added 4 teaspoons of sugar (we like it on the sweet side) and 1/4 cup of melted butter to the mix, so that it would be nice and moist. Also, we used jalapenos instead of mild chiles for added spice. This is definitely worth trying. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARCELI6
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
EXCELLENT! I used the Jiffy cornbread meal and used sweet kernel corn (not creamed) I drained it but left some juice to make sure it turned out moist. I also used a whole jalapeno pepper finely diced. I didn't have montery cheese, so I opted for mild cheddar. I, too added one teaspoon of sugar. This comes out moist with the perfect amount of kick! We served it with home made chili, yummy! Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This Mexican Cornbread was fantastic! Extremely easy to make and went wonderfully with the chili I was serving. Not too spicy , so if you want extra kick you'll need to add something extra. It took a little longer than 25 minutes to bake. It was very good and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Tastes great but next time I will drain a little of the juice in the cream corn as it is really heavy and soggy when baked. Great alternative to regular cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Yummy -- but this is SPOONBREAD, ***NOT*** cornbread! I made it with Jiffy cornbread mix and pepper jack cheese, and it tasted great (I would call it very sweet, though, so that might be the difference in using Jiffy, compared to what other reviewers said) and cooked it in a 10" iron skillet. After I took it out of the oven and saw the consistency, I put it back in at 450 for 10 minutes, and it was STILL the consistency of spoonbread -- there is no way on earth you could eat this stuff with your hands, as you would a piece of cornbread. So, again, it tasted very good but was not at all what I had in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I have been looking for a great Mexican Cornbread recipe and this one is pretty good! I should've added the sugar like others suggested and I found that it was WAY better the next day...more spicier! Will definately make again..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This was pretty good. I added the extra sugar that some suggested, but I didn't read directions carefully and didn't drain the can of green chiles. The cornbread came out a little bit soggy/moist because I didn't drain the chiles, but it was still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Awesome! Easy to make and everyone loved it. I added a teaspoon of sugar, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States