Mexican Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
MMM MMM good! The only change I made was to use Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix (it's what I like), added about half of a diced red pepper, and 1 cup of cheddar cheese along with the rest of the recipe. Then I topped it with sliced jalapeno rings and it was excellent! I love cornbread and I love mexican cornbread even more!! I think you could add regular canned corn instead of the creamed and it would be awesome too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
A friend of mine made this for a family event and it was a hit! There was none left over... She made a couple substitutions for a little more flavor, but it only added to this great recipe. She used buttermilk instead of milk, and sharp Cheddar cheese instead of Monterey Jack. She also added one chopped green bell pepper. Have fun with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I couldn't find self-rising cornmeal so used a package of Jiffy corn muffin mix to substitute. It worked just fine. This is a great recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
this was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
We were not thrilled with this recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and used whole kernel corn instead of creamed corn, but it was still too heavy for out tastes. Also added extra sugar which made it too sweet for out tastes. Perhaps the corn I added was too sweet to begin with. I don't think that I will make this recipe again, but will look for a similar one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWIGGS1952

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
THe flavor was good, but it came out very VERY soft, you could not pick it up to eat it. I might make it again but cut back on some of the wet ingredients. I wish I would have red all the reviews before I made this, none of the reviews on the front page mentioned the consistency, now I know better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dickinson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I wish I had read all the reviews first before making. I followed the directions exactly. It turned out a pan of mush. I cooked it longer than suggested and it still was mushy. It didn't resemble cornbread at all. With some tweaking it could turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This was excellent. I made a few changes, after reading a couple reviews from other testers. I didn't have cream corn, so I did a can of whole kernel corn and added a 1/4 c. of melted unsalted butter. I also added a tbsp. of sugar. I used bacon grease to grease the pan, which gave it even more flavor. paired it with the Crockpot Taco Soup also from this site. Way to go! Great spoon bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Didn't like it. Texture too moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by catglaw
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
We loved this cornbread! I didn't add corn because we had corn on the cob with our dinner, but this turned out just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catglaw

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States