Mexican Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
very disappointed .. taste was OK but the texture of the cornbread was WAY TOO "WET". I think I will stick with the regular cornbread. Texture was more like a "HOT PUDDING" instead of cornbread. I will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
So easy and a great twist on cornbread, especially if you're serving chili or soup. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I doubled the recipe, but after reading the direction on the cornbread muffin/bread mix, I was concerned the batter would be too runny so changed it slightly by reducing the milk to 2/3c. I also, substituted a 12oz can of whole corn for the creamed corn. The texture and flavor was great. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is a recipe that will frequently appear alongside chili in our home. It was very simple to make and the results are wonderful. It is not crumbly, as you would expect with regular cornbread, because the creamed corn makes it soft...almost like a slightly spicy spoonbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was the tastiest corn bread I've ever made. Have been in search of an easy, moist cornbread for years and finally found it. Normally don't like to use boxed mixes, but happened to have a Jiffy mix on hand so it worked out great. Will keep this on hand for future use. Thanks Bea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This was really easy to make and tasted very good. The only issue is mine came out more like corn pudding than corn bread. Next time I will add another 5-10 minutes to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Yummy and it turned out very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Cagle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
ive madde this twice the first time exactly as directed and it was a little too moist. i combatted that tonight using half as much creamed corn ( freezing the other half the can for next time) and it came out way better. i like this because i can play with it some maybe using cheddar since i dont always have monterey jack in the house but always do cheddar. i did sprinkle the tinsiest amount of cayenne over the top before i baked it and i think it gave it a little something it wasnt hot but it was definitely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was DELICIOUS! I could have skipped the soup I made to go along with this and eaten as it as meal (you know...a very unbalanced one ;). I used a box of Jiffy cornbread mix and a combination of cheddar and mozzarella, since that's what I had on hand. Also sprinkled some extra cheddar on top for the last 5 min or so. This comes out super moist and very flavorful without being very spicy. A new favorite in our home to be sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terressa Broussard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Very good recipe. It's easy and everyone likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States