Mexican Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
i always serve w/ SOUTHWEST MEATLOAF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMM good! made just like it is written no complaints from me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
THe BEST !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Very very tasty. Will definitely do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
i hate giving bad reviews but this time its warranted! i make alot of cornbread its probably the one thing i never mess up. this came out really eggy and theres way too much cheese in it and i reduced it by a cup. 3 cups is alot. i liked that this recipe wasnt too sweet but it lacked a punch which i would expect from mexican cornbread. i think half the corn would be better. wet and eggy and not spicy is exactly how id describe this. i did make it in a cast iron skillet that i sprayed and then got hot in my oven before pouring the batter in. this is a southern trick and gives a nice crust to the cornbread. sorry i just didnt care for this. if i made this again id reduce the cream corn, use only 1 egg, and use 2 cups cheese and add something maybe taco seasoning or picante sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
i just finished having this with homemade vegetable beef soup. i went by the recipe except i used chopped green chilies in place of green pepper b/c i didn't have any. put 3 tbsp melted butter into batter and a tablespoon of sugar. wonderful! its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Garner Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Good basic recipe but needed a bit of tweaking. I added drained whole kernel corn and 1/2 c. milk to compensate, I also added 1 c. pepper jack cheese, 1 c. taco cheese, and 1 c. sharp cheddar. I also threw in a jalapeno with the green chiles. I served it that night with carne asada with lime and refried beans, and spicy spanish rice. It was out of this world. I did only give it 3 stars because I had to tweak the recipe to give it more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I put regular breakfast sausage instead of ground beef to give a little more spice. I had regular corn meal but found I didn't have any baking soda. I did have a package cornbread mix which has the salt and baking soda in it. So I used it instead. Other than the sausage I followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Good recipe! I used fresh corn, doubled the milk to compensate for the lack of jucie in the creamed corn. I also used 2 C of shredded cheese and about 5 slices of crumbled pepperjack. Very good and cheesey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Good bread but missing a little sweetness. I halved the recipe and added 2T of honey, used fresh corn instead of cream corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States