Mexican Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I made two small changes--I used reduced fat cream cheese and one 4 ounce can of mild green chilies. I did not use fresh jalapenos because I was feeding two little ones and I didn't want it to be too hot for them. That said, this was a huge hit. Everyone loved this side dish. I think I could get by with cutting the butter back by half next time and it would still be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
I made this last night, what a hit! We don't like really "hot" foods so i used 2 cans of green chilies and a splash of red hot sauce instead of the peppers. Other than that I followed the recipe and it was GREAT!! Thanks Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
The ultimate test--my DAD!! He raved over this recipe. I used frozen sweet white corn (I find that it's not as crunchy and tastes much more fresh than canned, which I just refuse to make) in a heated skillet, no olive or vegetable oil, no butter. Just cooked the corn, added 3/4ths of a thing of cream cheese, and added the jalapenos. My family is from Louisiana (Cajun, baby!) so we like spicy things--I added all the jalepenos the recipe called for, and kinda wish I'd added more. I love that spicy kick to it. Anyway, was extremely unique--nothing I EVER would have thought to try, so I really enjoyed making it and serving it to my family. I will definitely give this a try again, although next time will use reduced fat cream cheese to cut out those unnecessary and unhealthy extra calories. I highly recommend giving this a shot! Thanks so much for the unique recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
This was very good. I only used 1/4 of the butter, 1/2 of the cream cheese and 2 of the hot peppers and got very good reviews. Try it whatever variation you like. I'm a health nut so I cut the fat but not the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Very good!! I used less jalapenos and added some Rotel tomatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Comfort food indeed. So good you can eat it all week! I use half the cream cheese and for the other half use sour cream. No butter, add 2 cans of Ortega green chilis, sometimes throw in some leftover cooked rice and sprinkle with green onion. Really, really, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Very good, did not use that many peppers though - I used less than half. The group I served it to could not get enough, they loved it. Will certainly make this again, maybe even tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
Yum , I loved this dish I made it with the salsa chicken on this site by Faye and a great side salad (was out of spanish rice) BUT it went over great. It taste like a jalapeno popper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I loved it. I served it with enchiladas and refriend beans and made it with half the cream cheese and no chilis. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I won't be making this again..Recipe looked interesting,but ended up being just so-so. I will keep looking for a better and healthier Mexican corn recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States