Mexican Chorizo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I have to admit I did not use Aleppo pepper, I used ancho chili instead. I found it odd to use a middle eastern pepper in a Mexican sausage, plus with the state of Syria, Aleppo pepper is harder and harder to find. That said, I was underwhelmed with this recipe. It was too vinegary and did not achieve the depth of flavor that a great chorizo has; rich, smoky and garlicky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
There did not seem to be a depth of flavor. Will keep searching for more of a traditional taste that I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Loved this recipe! Had to special order the Aleppo pepper but it is well worth it. Glad I tripled the recipe and vac packed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Made beef burger patties out of this. Seasonings are spot on, but next time I might reduce the amount of vinegar because mine came out a bit too tangy for me (or perhaps this was because I used apple cider vinegar instead of white?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
My Son made this and I don't think he changed a thing.It was gone in a day or 2! He is quite a good cook and gives me a run for my money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnette DuFord

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Made this exactly as written, including grinding the pork. I found the Aleppo pepper on Amazon. ($12.00 for 2.5 oz.) In all honesty, I will buy ground pork next time because my Kitchen Aid grinder did NOT handle it well. My husband loved the recipe, so there will be a next time. Thank you for the recipe, James. And COOKINGCOWGIRLS, maybe freeze the meat, as I will before using the grinder next time. That seems to make a big difference, rather than just chilling it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Delicious! We added some chipotle and a few more spices. Made it from wild boar meat and it was to die for. Best Chorizo we've ever had. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I come from a family in Mexico who owned a Chorizo making Co. Many people and restraunt owners would come and flock around the business to make advanced orders, since it ran out so quickly!! My Uncle had a similar recipe but used basically all the same ingredients listed here but also used cinnamon sticks, dried chile pods, chile tepin and grounded all this ingredients in a blender till they became powdery then added the vinegar, water and olive oil. He also used half ground pork and half ground beef. It was the best Chorizo in the world. I use that same recipe handed down from generations to this day and have handed it down to my daughter and my granddaughters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Used ground pork, as I am not enamoured of my new meat grinder. Sub 1 tbs. paprika and 1/2 tsp. cayenne for Aleppo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINCOWGIRLS

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Where do I find Aleppo pepper?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States