Mexican Chorizo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Made beef burger patties out of this. Seasonings are spot on, but next time I might reduce the amount of vinegar because mine came out a bit too tangy for me (or perhaps this was because I used apple cider vinegar instead of white?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
My Son made this and I don't think he changed a thing.It was gone in a day or 2! He is quite a good cook and gives me a run for my money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Made this exactly as written, including grinding the pork. I found the Aleppo pepper on Amazon. ($12.00 for 2.5 oz.) In all honesty, I will buy ground pork next time because my Kitchen Aid grinder did NOT handle it well. My husband loved the recipe, so there will be a next time. Thank you for the recipe, James. And COOKINGCOWGIRLS, maybe freeze the meat, as I will before using the grinder next time. That seems to make a big difference, rather than just chilling it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Delicious! We added some chipotle and a few more spices. Made it from wild boar meat and it was to die for. Best Chorizo we've ever had. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I come from a family in Mexico who owned a Chorizo making Co. Many people and restraunt owners would come and flock around the business to make advanced orders, since it ran out so quickly!! My Uncle had a similar recipe but used basically all the same ingredients listed here but also used cinnamon sticks, dried chile pods, chile tepin and grounded all this ingredients in a blender till they became powdery then added the vinegar, water and olive oil. He also used half ground pork and half ground beef. It was the best Chorizo in the world. I use that same recipe handed down from generations to this day and have handed it down to my daughter and my granddaughters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Used ground pork, as I am not enamoured of my new meat grinder. Sub 1 tbs. paprika and 1/2 tsp. cayenne for Aleppo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINCOWGIRLS

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Where do I find Aleppo pepper?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
EXCELLENT! I used already ground pork and just followed the directions from there. The next day, I cooked up a small portion just to taste it and it was delicious! My little guy loved it so much that I had to cook up some more for him to eat, lol. I just divided it into approx. 1/2# portions and froze it that way, so I'll have it ready for any recipe that calls for it. I loved that this was not at all greasy like the traditional chorizo, but had all the flavor. Definitely will be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
While I didn't follow the directions - I used ground beef because I needed chorizo NOW so I just used the spice blend - which is dead on! IMHO, the cloves push this over the top - dead on! THANK YOU - can hardly wait to use this correctly from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is the real deal. I added a 1 teaspoon of liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States