Mexican Chocolate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I substituted chorizo for the ground round, which is a MUST in my mind, for Mexican chili. Also, did not add any water...it was mild, which was good for my kids, but if you like it spicier I would recommend kicking up the chili powder called for. Also, serve with Cotija cheese, crumbled. Very, very tasty. Will def make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is actually a really good chili, we add a few more items and it provides a little more savor for people that don't like the sweetness of the chocolate and the corn, and spice to people looking for a kick. Keeping with the same ingredients as above, I recommend adding a pound of ground spicy sausage (to you and for families spice tolerance), 1 tablespoon of Chipotle hot sauce (any brand really will do, it's pretty much blended chilies in adobo sauce). The sausage adds more of the savory flavor (and potentially spice), the chipotle sauce does the same thing. It gives it more flavor and a different character.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I hit it out of the ball park with this recipe! Followed it for the most part, but did make a few tweaks due to living in Austria. I used tomatoes w/chilies (added some roasted garlic), left out the onion (preference used 1 TBLS of onion powder instead), 2 cans kidney beans (couldn't find black beans) - didn't rinse because we like a little of the juice the beans are in, used Mexican chocolate(has a hint of cinnamon) and seasoned the meat w/a homemade hot taco seasoning. I heated the tomatoes & chilies, chocolate and spices together before putting them in the pot (to ensure they were blended well) just to boiling then poured the mix over the meat and vegetables. I added a little extra chili powder, cumin and some chopped jalapenos for extra flavor. The end result was amazing! Served with warm tortillas and a choice of sour cream or a jalapeno cheese sauce as a topping (my husband had both). This is most definitely a great recipe and well worth fixing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I started adding chocolate a few years ago with my chili recipe - my family and friends love it - they were surprised when I told them I add 1/2 of pure cocoa to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My chocolate chili includes ground turkey and abuelita, a whole block of the hot cinnamon chocolate, also, you may want to try adding cinnamon,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morrilton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
one of my favorite chili recipes yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New London, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Fantastic recipe! Haven't made this for a year now. The winter hits and my kids are begging for me to make it again. Given that they remember it a year later, I would have to give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe. It is the first chili I ever cooked. I added some different items to it but customizing a recipe is what makes it yours when you cook it. I will be cooking some chili this winter. Thanks for sharing your moms recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grillmaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I hate to give any recipe such an awful rating but this chili was just not for me. It was much too sweet and really lacked any flavor. In the end I put about 5 total TSB of Chili powder and 1 1/2 TBS of Cumin. Sorry for the bad review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishblue82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was tasty. The only change I made was to use ground turkey breast. I wasn't able to eat this until a couple of days after I made it.. I always wait a day for chili anyway. The flavors had mellowed a lot so next time I would up the seasonings even more than I already did. And I wouldn't use kidney beans, but rather another bean.. that is my issue though not the recipe's.. I just like other beans better than kidneys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Mexican Turkey Chili

What's cooking in San Jose? Valerie makes a hearty Mexican-style turkey chili.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States