Mexican Chocolate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
It was too mild for our family's taste so I doubled the chili powder and added some red pepper flakes. I used dark chocolate chips and really liked the suble taste the chocolate gave, life a mole. I'd definitely make it again. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Principalgail

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This recipe was great! I like mild things, and my husband likes really spicy, so this worked well because as is, the recipe is mild, so we just add some extra spice for the hubster, and voila, perfection! Loved the chocolate mixed with the other savory flavors. It wasn't overpowering, but gave the chili a subtle smoothness. Great blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was easy and tasty. I do NOT like really spicy food and this was perfect for me and my family. You can't taste the chocolate, but it gives the dish some depth. I added 2 gloves of chopped fresh garlic to the meat and onions and then 1 more in the slow cooker. I also added 1/2 tsp of cloves. Don't care for corn in my chili, so I left it out. Added an extra tsp of chili powder for a total of 1 TBS. Leftovers were really good. Will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Great chili. I kicked up the spice by substituting diced tomatoes w/ green chiles for the ones with garlic. I also added some chipotle sauce when serving. The smoky flavor perfectly complimented the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
My husband and I loved this chili! It was even better the next day. It could use a few more spices to kick it up a notch. But that easy to fix. We will definitely be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Good, but not exceptional...pretty easy to fix though and everyone was satisfied here...just not an absolute keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I have already made this dish twice and everyone loves it! The second time I made it I added a little more chili powder and a little more cumin. Other than that...it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Did not care for the taste. If the chocolate was omited, it would probably make a good chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kippy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by catastrophiccook
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I love this recipe! I've made it a couple times. I don't change things because there's anything wrong with the original; it's great exactly as listed. A couple things I've done based on my supplies/people's preferences that have worked are: omitted corn once and tasted fine; usually add more chili powder (at least double the amount) b/c I like chili flavor, and I halve cumin b/c I think it's a strong flavor. Add closer to 1/2 cup chocolate chips; it is still subtle, but I just LOVE chocolate in anything. This is a great chili when you want a change of pace from regular chili. I made it today for a baby shower (double batch) and it was almost completely gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was not really chili to us, not too hearty. More like taco soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States