Mexican Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
It was very good. I made some cupcakes for a church pot luck and added cinnamon& semi-sweet chocolate chips to them. It had alot of cinnamon, but it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This cake is so easy to prepare. It has a wonderful flavor. I used 1/2 c. OJ for the milk like one reviewer suggested. Turned out SO GOOD! Everyone loved it. I did make a choc. buttercream frosting to put on top. A real thin layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This recipe was a flop. I used hard margarine and this does not work, it should be specified as soft margarine in the recipe if that works. I have never mixed margarine with the liquid, but rather sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
COOKGIRL is not easy to impress. But this is a very good cake recipe. I made a few revisions and modifications- for example:- I used regular milk instead of soured milk. Almond milk would make an interesting substitution....? Brown sugar and cane sugar in equal amounts give this recipe a richer flavor than boring processed white sugar. Also, I added 1/8 tsp of ground cloves, 1/2 tsp. of ground cardamon, 1/2 tsp. of slightly crushed anise seeds to the mixture. The use of Mexican cocoa mix from the import store gave this cake a really spicy flavor in place of regular cocoa powder. (I made adjustments with the amount of sugar used.) After removing the cake from the oven, sprinkle with powdered sugar for an appealing presentation. This cake earns COOKGIRL'S seal of approval or an A++...take your pick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
A very moist cake! I iced it with a whipped cream topping and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This is a great cake. I also used fresh orange juice instead of sour milk. The cinnamon is the perfect touch. It is not your typical cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
I've made it three times but I've added to the recipe because the first time I couldn't taste the cinnamon. I also added Kahlua in the recipe and to the chocolate fudge icing I used. Then, I dipped strawberries in the icing and decorated the cake. A huge hit!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
This cake is a delight and great break from your usual chocolate. It very easy to make and please chocolate and non chocolate lovers alike. I iced the cake with chocolate buttercream frosting which gave the cake extra kick and i added fresh orange (to the milk) instead of using sour milk. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
Everyone in my office loved it. Good with chocolate icing. Can also be made in 2 9" round pans(bake about 22 min). Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-69 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States