Mexican Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I would have rated it a five, except that it was a bit thin, and I even made it in a 9 x 13 pan. It was so easy, the flavor was delicious and the texture was great. A bit of a cross between a brownie and cake, but I like it that way. I frosted it with the recipe for Cinnamon Coffee Frosting from this site an it was a huge hit at Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBERKRYNOCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Welch, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
this was delicious. got lots of compliments. I used buttermilk. for sugars used 3/4 c. white sugar, and 3/4 cups brown sugar. butter instead of margerine. I also added a tsp of cayanne pepper, 1/2 cup chopped pecans, and 1/2 cup coconut. frosted with a cinnamon vanilla butter cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I made this cake using oj instead of sour milk and with the addition of cardomom, ground cloves and a touch of cayenne pepper. It was so moist and dark and wonderful on the inside, but looked a bit of a mess on the outside, a bit like a giant muffin, with a big crack running across the top. It also kind of fell apart when I moved it or attempted to cut it. But being a beginner, this could well have been my own fault, maybe I made a mistake somewhere along the way. And I also found it took much longer to cook than was indicated - I took it out after half an hour and though the top was cooked it actually wobbled, because inside it was still liqiud. However, I must emphasize, when it was finally done, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This cake was great. I halved the recipe and made it in a 9x11 pan. I put chocolate icing on it and I used the OJ instead of sour milk. It was fantastic! :) Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was my ultimate favorite cake when I was growing up; the recipe came from my Texan grandmother. But in her version, you mixed the flour and sugar in a large bowl, and then heated the margarine, oil, water, and cocoa in a saucepan on the stove. Melt the margarine and bring it to a boil, stir it up and then pour the mixture over the flour and sugar. Then add everything else (beat the eggs a bit before adding them). Bake in a rectangular cake pan. I almost always double the cinnamon because I like it a little stronger. Grandma's version also had a pour-over frosting: melt another stick of margarine and add one quarter cup of cocoa and 6 tablespoons of milk. When it boils and the margaine is melted, remove it from the heat and beat in as much powdered sugar as you can (recipe alled for "1 box", but I always used more), along with 1 tablespoon of vanilla. Pour over the warm cake. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Awesome cake. This was my first attempt at ever making a cake and was told by family it was the most moist, best tasting homemade cake they had ever had. Its good with whipped cream on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I added a little more cinnamon, but thought it was still a little boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I made this for a Spanish project, and they Flew out of the pan. We used a 9x13 pan as that was all we had, and baked roughly the same amount of time, so they were somewhat like delectable brownies. Just to be silly, I spread chocolate frosting and toffee bits over the cake about 5 minutes after taking it out of the oven, and they melted and melded with the cake deliciously. This was rich, very chocolate-y, very good. I definetly plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This cake tasted awful, it was really fatty and all I could taste was the oil and margarine. Don't make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This is a very good cake -- there is something about it that makes you feel that you MUST eat a 2nd peice (beware!). The texture was moist, but not very consistent. The cinnamon is not identifiable as such, but does make it different from other chocolate cakes; if you want to emphasize the cinnamon, try it with the cinnamon/coffee icing on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States