Mexican Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Very easy recipe. I've made this both as a cake and cupcakes. Cut the recipe in half to make 12 nice size cupcakes. It's a mild chocolate flavor, nicely accented with the cinnamon. Make sure the margarine (or butter, which I used) is very soft, and it will incorporate into the batter much easier. Used the cinnamon coffee icing, also on this site, as recommended by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Very good cake - instead of milk or oj, I used a small jar of orange marmalade which I melted down with the butter and I only put in a cup of sugar. The scattered orange pieces add a nice element. I also doubled the cinnamon, added a touch of cardamom and cayenne. Final product is not too sweet, which I like but for others, I topped with powdered sugar and added decoration ("happy birthday" wish) with the vanilla buttercream icing on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I use a recipie similar to this one but needed to make some adjustments to get the same taste as the 1st mexican chocolate cake I had. I added a pinch more cinnamon and replaced the water with brewed coffee. It is very moist and perfect for a sweet tooth. would be great with hot fudge. Also soured milk is just milk with a teaspoon of vinegar not actually bad milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I used the OJ instead of sour milk, added 1 tsp cayanne pepper,1 tsp cardamon, increased the cinnamon to 1 tbsp and added 1 tsp cinnamon extract. I bake this regularly for many different people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this over Christmas and my Father-in-law wants me to make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Oh my G*d yes! A few changes though: I used pineapple/orange juice instead of the milk and added about 1 tsp. chipotle chili powder. Butter not margarine. Also 1/4 cup tequila as part of the water. I used the coffee/cinnamon frosting others recommended but with espresso powder. I had people on low carb diets begging for pieces to take home. This is a keeper--I sent this recipe to my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I would have rated it a five, except that it was a bit thin, and I even made it in a 9 x 13 pan. It was so easy, the flavor was delicious and the texture was great. A bit of a cross between a brownie and cake, but I like it that way. I frosted it with the recipe for Cinnamon Coffee Frosting from this site an it was a huge hit at Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBERKRYNOCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Welch, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
this was delicious. got lots of compliments. I used buttermilk. for sugars used 3/4 c. white sugar, and 3/4 cups brown sugar. butter instead of margerine. I also added a tsp of cayanne pepper, 1/2 cup chopped pecans, and 1/2 cup coconut. frosted with a cinnamon vanilla butter cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I made this cake using oj instead of sour milk and with the addition of cardomom, ground cloves and a touch of cayenne pepper. It was so moist and dark and wonderful on the inside, but looked a bit of a mess on the outside, a bit like a giant muffin, with a big crack running across the top. It also kind of fell apart when I moved it or attempted to cut it. But being a beginner, this could well have been my own fault, maybe I made a mistake somewhere along the way. And I also found it took much longer to cook than was indicated - I took it out after half an hour and though the top was cooked it actually wobbled, because inside it was still liqiud. However, I must emphasize, when it was finally done, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This cake was great. I halved the recipe and made it in a 9x11 pan. I put chocolate icing on it and I used the OJ instead of sour milk. It was fantastic! :) Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States