Mexican Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This recipe was wonderful and INCREDIBLY moist. The only changes I made/recommend is adding more spices. I added a little allspice, nutmeg and chili powder, and it was sooooo amazing. I also topped it with the coffee cinnamon frosting from this site and used chocolate frosting on the sides and inbetween layers. (used two 9X9 cake pans for 24 minutes). Wonderful, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Very easy recipe. I've made this both as a cake and cupcakes. Cut the recipe in half to make 12 nice size cupcakes. It's a mild chocolate flavor, nicely accented with the cinnamon. Make sure the margarine (or butter, which I used) is very soft, and it will incorporate into the batter much easier. Used the cinnamon coffee icing, also on this site, as recommended by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Very good cake - instead of milk or oj, I used a small jar of orange marmalade which I melted down with the butter and I only put in a cup of sugar. The scattered orange pieces add a nice element. I also doubled the cinnamon, added a touch of cardamom and cayenne. Final product is not too sweet, which I like but for others, I topped with powdered sugar and added decoration ("happy birthday" wish) with the vanilla buttercream icing on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I use a recipie similar to this one but needed to make some adjustments to get the same taste as the 1st mexican chocolate cake I had. I added a pinch more cinnamon and replaced the water with brewed coffee. It is very moist and perfect for a sweet tooth. would be great with hot fudge. Also soured milk is just milk with a teaspoon of vinegar not actually bad milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I used the OJ instead of sour milk, added 1 tsp cayanne pepper,1 tsp cardamon, increased the cinnamon to 1 tbsp and added 1 tsp cinnamon extract. I bake this regularly for many different people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this over Christmas and my Father-in-law wants me to make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Oh my G*d yes! A few changes though: I used pineapple/orange juice instead of the milk and added about 1 tsp. chipotle chili powder. Butter not margarine. Also 1/4 cup tequila as part of the water. I used the coffee/cinnamon frosting others recommended but with espresso powder. I had people on low carb diets begging for pieces to take home. This is a keeper--I sent this recipe to my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I would have rated it a five, except that it was a bit thin, and I even made it in a 9 x 13 pan. It was so easy, the flavor was delicious and the texture was great. A bit of a cross between a brownie and cake, but I like it that way. I frosted it with the recipe for Cinnamon Coffee Frosting from this site an it was a huge hit at Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBERKRYNOCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Welch, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
this was delicious. got lots of compliments. I used buttermilk. for sugars used 3/4 c. white sugar, and 3/4 cups brown sugar. butter instead of margerine. I also added a tsp of cayanne pepper, 1/2 cup chopped pecans, and 1/2 cup coconut. frosted with a cinnamon vanilla butter cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I made this cake using oj instead of sour milk and with the addition of cardomom, ground cloves and a touch of cayenne pepper. It was so moist and dark and wonderful on the inside, but looked a bit of a mess on the outside, a bit like a giant muffin, with a big crack running across the top. It also kind of fell apart when I moved it or attempted to cut it. But being a beginner, this could well have been my own fault, maybe I made a mistake somewhere along the way. And I also found it took much longer to cook than was indicated - I took it out after half an hour and though the top was cooked it actually wobbled, because inside it was still liqiud. However, I must emphasize, when it was finally done, it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States