Mexican Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I also subbed orange juice for sour milk and used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. This recipe made two 9 inch round cakes nicely. Very moist, great flavor and easy to make. I topped mind with caramel sauce for a dinner party, went over very well. Will definitely make again, possibly subbing coffee for water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Very moist cake, love the taste. In order to get sour milk take 1 tablespoon of vinegar or lemon juice and a cup of milk or the amount of milk needed for the recipe. 30 mins was just the right amount of time for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
How do you make that awesome looking icing? I will be making this cake this weekend and would LOVE to have that icing on it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I used DreamySweets suggestion for putting this together. Made her frosting recipe. I added about 1 tsp cinnamon to the frosting too. Such a moist flavorful cake. Amazing! Oh I made it in the bundt cake pan. Baked at 325 for about 40 min then up to 375 for an addditional 15 minutes. I think at 350 it would have been done in 40-45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Springs, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Beware of the pan size stated. When I tried to scale down the recipe I noticed that the pan size doesn't change; big problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Great cake. I love the cinnamon flavor but also disolved a rounded teaspoon of instant coffee in hot water and added that as well. I find coffee and cinnamon both compliment chocolate very well. I also topped it with a caramel sauce made from scratch. It was a hit. My son has requested it for his birthday. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marilee page

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
With the exception of the cinnamon, and the addition of a 1/2 tsp. salt, this recipe is a mirror image of my mother's buttermilk brownie recipe. I followed reviewer dreamysweets' directions and used their frosting recipe, and when I tasted the cake, I knew immediately it was my mom's buttermilk brownies. Great recipe, and thanks for the great tips, dreamysweets! Oh, and I baked it in a 13 x 9, and it took, at 350 degrees, about 45 minutes to bake, testing every five minutes after 30 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is wonderful, husband loved it! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I really enjoyed this cake. Like a lot of posters, I used OJ, and bummped up the cinnamon. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States