Mexican Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Shredded the chicken. Used the spicy taco seasoning & added a bit more broth, corn, & black beans. Whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This was really tasty. Per the suggestion of another reviewer, I added in black beans and corn in the last 15 minutes of simmering, and used home-made chicken stock. I made my own tortilla strips (cut corn tortillas and sprayed with olive oil, then baked at 425 for 12 minutes). Excellent. Maybe next time I'll add in some jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Fantastic! Followed all the directions using a can of rotel with green chilies for diced tomatoes and we LOVED it. I enjoy soupa de pollo at my favorite mex restaurant and this is similar but only better! Will be a household fave from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Yummy. I added a can of black beans and some rice to make it more substantial for the kiddos. I had an OOPS MOMENT where I used cinnamon instead of cumin. Ack! Got both teaspoons in before I realized something was up. I scraped some out and still went ahead with the cumin, and you know what?… it was actually good. Discovered a new flavor combination - tasted Caribbean or something. Maybe I'll add a teaspoon of Cinnamon on purpose next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was ok, did reduce the cumin for personal taste. Did think it was a little bland but my wife loved it. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This soup was so easy to make and it tasted so good.The avocado was my favourite ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This is a very easy soup to make and soooo good. I followed one reviewer's advice and went easy on the ground cumin. I used all chicken broth (no water) and added corn and small pasta tubes. This is going into my regular Sunday soup rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Pretty tasty, chicken is yummy cooked this way! Maybe try corn, rice, beans add-ins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Good recipe; however, needed some things in order to become a meal. I cooked the chicken in a full pkg. of taco seasonings. I added a can tomatoes with chili's vs. the can of diced tomatoes. This gave the soup additional flavor, then added a can of tomato sauce, 2 cans of drained black beans, and 1 can of corn, drained. I, also, eliminated the can of water and only added 2 cans of chicken broth vs. 3. Next time I will only add 1 can of chicken broth for a thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Made this for my family tonight. They loved it! I did double the recipe and added two 15 oz cans black beans, drained well, and One 15 oz can kernel corn.I did season the chicken with some taco mix and sauteed with cover on till chicken was cooked (30 minutes on low). I added the beans and corn when the chicken and tomatoes are added. I did simmer longer than 5 minutes after adding these items. And we added a squeeze of lime when serving. We skipped the tortilla chips because we are dieting but will try them when we are not. Healthy and delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States