Mexican Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
So very very good! I ate it without avacado but can see why its a must. I put a load of cheese on top and ate it up but wish i had avacado on hand. Will get it at store today have left overs tomorrow with it with a little cheese a teaspoon of sourcream and a half dozen sliced olives. Sure to be a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Very good. I used leftover chicken, tomatoes with chilies and added a can of black beans and corn. I did top with avocado but didn't really think it added anything. I will make again. Good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This soup is good that my 7yo daughter went back for seconds, which is almost unheard of! I did do a couple of things differently, though I doubt they made much difference. First, I poached the breasts in the pot (using the 1c water) then threw the celery and onion in when they were done. Pulled the breasts and shredded them after getting everything else in the pot. Used only 1/2 tsp cumin and instead of measuring chopped tomato diced one large beefsteak. Absolutely wonderful! DO NOT SKIP THE TOPPINGS, as they are integral to the soup. Even just a small amount makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Delicious! I have made this 3 times and My daughter loved it so much tonight she asked me to make it again tomorrow (since there were no leftovers!) Alterations: I used a whole chicken, boiled it in 2cups of water, then threw everything in the crockpot. I also added frozen corn and half can of black beans and some extra cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Made it per the recipe just added black beans, hominy and corn at the end. Someone might say that I didn‘t cook as planned but I thought it needed more substance. Wondeful taste glad I made a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I use chicken thighs instead of breasts. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Shredded the chicken. Used the spicy taco seasoning & added a bit more broth, corn, & black beans. Whole family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This was really tasty. Per the suggestion of another reviewer, I added in black beans and corn in the last 15 minutes of simmering, and used home-made chicken stock. I made my own tortilla strips (cut corn tortillas and sprayed with olive oil, then baked at 425 for 12 minutes). Excellent. Maybe next time I'll add in some jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Fantastic! Followed all the directions using a can of rotel with green chilies for diced tomatoes and we LOVED it. I enjoy soupa de pollo at my favorite mex restaurant and this is similar but only better! Will be a household fave from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States