Mexican Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
What a delicious recipe. My family absolutely loves it! For added zip, try adding one can of Rotel tomatoes in place of canned tomatoes. Great flavor! I serve it with Mexican cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
OH YA - this was the best dam soup i ever ate and i am a soup fan , never thought of cooking it from scratch but glad i did as you cant get this in a resturant - my girlfriend was amazed and i am a hero - follow directions to the letter and use mission style chips - everything blended together perfectly and as previous reviewer said i used corn bread from the local bakery awesome - will try another soup soon but this one is a keeper and will make for friends in a few days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This was a good soup. I topped mine with cheese and crushed tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
We were in Los Cabos in October 2004 and I had Mexican soup that I went crazy for! Here it is! I can't believe it tastes exactly the same. The only difference (visual) was the avocado - I mash it and stir it into the soup - it gives it a green colour and a creamier texture. Thanks so much for this recipe - my family and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This was great!!!! Soooo easy! I added mushrooms, corn, and used the mexican style diced tomatoes in a can. Other than that nothing else was added. My husband isint a soup lover, and he couldnt get enough. I'll for sure be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This was EXCELLENT, my parents and 3 y.o. daughter loved it. Leftovers lasted only through the next day at lunchtime. Unfortuately, I wasn't able to get a decent avacado this time of year, so instead, I mounded some cooked white rice in the bottoms of the bowls and served the soup overtop of it. The only change I made to the recipe was to add a little cayenne pepper for some heat, also I used some pre-cooked chicken meat that I needed to use up so I just whisked the taco seasoning into the broth. Next time I make it, I am planning to sautee some garlic in with the onions and celery, and perhaps add a can of corn. Thanks for the awesome recipe Rilene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Wonderful soup. Instead of baking the chicken I boiled 3 large breasts and chopped them up and threw everything into the pot at the same time. I added 1 can of corn, 1 can of diced tomatoes (undrained) and a can of chopped green chilies. I omitted the water since I left the liquid in the tomatoes. The avacado really made this delicious. Thankx Rillene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This is a great soup and totally satisfied a Mexican food craving! I halved the recipe and served it with a corn bread recipe from this site. I poached the chicken and used the cumin with some added chili pepper as I didn't have the taco seasoning. I also used canned diced tomatoes as someone else suggested (tomato and spicy red pepper)and this added some nice flavour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I really liked this recipie, I did switch some things up... I bought a whole rotissorie chicken (hot wing flavor, from King Soopers) and let that simmer w/ veg. in the broth for about 1/2 hr, 45 min... Skipped taco seasoning since the chix was already spicy then drained the solids from the broth, deboned the chix and ended up with the best chix soup for a cold I have ever had... since I was sick and just wanted some spicy broth I skipped the tomatos, cilantro (not a big fan anyhow), cheese and chips but next time I will for sure add them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I'm not really a soup person, but with the chips and cornbread solidifying this recipe, I thought it ended up pretty good. My husband thought it was great as well, and the leftovers taste as good as the original. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States