Mexican Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Had a soup like this at a local Mexican restaurant and loved it. This recipe is very similar. I did add a little rice to it which was in the restaurant version and makes it a little heartier. I routinely cook whole chickens in my crockpot and debone and freeze the meat, mostly to use in soups. I used a pack of that instread of chicken breasts. Although better with fresh ingredients, an easy thing to do is use Ro-tel diced tomatoes with chilies and cilantro. Everyone in the family loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Berrier-Tate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have made this recipe several times. It is very good! I do not change a thing about the recipe. The only thing is I do not believe it would feed 6 people. Maybe 4 tops for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
excellent!! The only thing I did different was to use a rotisserie chicken...delicious, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
AWESOME!!!! I put corn it, kept out celery, and made sure I sauted lots of garlic and onions first before adding the UNCOOKED chicken to keep all the flavor in ----also, use Penzy's Chicken taco spice, yummy. GREAT with cheddar and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanasmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
so easy and delicious. a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELYNED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Sauteed vegetables - added 2 cloves garlic. Boiled chicken breasts in stock, sauteed vegetables and 1/2 of recipe for homemade taco seasoning added by other reviewer then shredded chicken. Added corn, black beans and 3 handfuls of cubed cheddar cheese last 10 minutes of cooking. Excellent! Easy to make and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was not only super yummy but it was very quick to make, I added some corn to it and it turned out great. My kids ate it all up. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This was a tasty and healthy soup. I also added a can of black beans, a can of corn, and a can of stewed tomatoes. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSkeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Very good soup recipe adding a can of black beans makes it taste richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I loved this soup. Based on other reviews, I made a few adjustments. I added chopped carrots, and used the Taco Seasoning 1 recipe from this site. I also added 1 cup of spicy salsa because I didn't have a tomatoe. I threw it all in the pot (no sauteing)and let it simmer for almost 2 hrs. I will consider adding beans or rice next time, for a heartier soup. It also tasted better as leftovers (which I thought wasn't possible). Thanks for a great, super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States