Mexican Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This was soooo good and very easy to make. I will however do what some other reviewers said and partially cook the bacon first. The bottom of the bacon on the chicken did not get crisp. Overall, fantasic receipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmamach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Enkelt å lage. Veldig god.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
The fiance decided to cook for the first time and went with this dish. I did all his prep work (chopping and measuring) because he got a wee bit overwhelmed :) But it came out absolutely fabulous! He took the advice of some other reviewers and added canned black beans and corn. They really helped round the soup out and make it less watery. He also added 2 cloves of garlic and 3 small serrano peppers, both finely minced, to the onion and celery step. He forgot to buy sour cream, but we'll buy some for tomorrow night, when we have the soup for leftovers. He's so proud of himself, and I was so happy to catch a cooking break on Sunday! Soup was great, but did 4 stars because it was missing a few things we added ourselves. Still! Thanks Rillene! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Loved this! Used some of costco's rotisserie chicken, homemade taco seasoning using previous poster's suggestion, and it came out great. The avocado on top was different and I liked it!! Didn't have tortilla chips...but did have a dallop of plain yogurt that cooled the heat of the taco seasoning perfectly. Excellent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This soup was absolutely delicious! I am not a soup eater generally as there are few that I find good enough to want to eat, but this was great. I followed the recipe to a T. I have to say the addition of the cilantro is a must for this recipe and is the key ingredient, along with the avocado that makes this so delicious. Will make this very often for my Mexican husband (who loved it too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This soup is great - I added carrots, rice, and green chiles. This is a regular now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Had a soup like this at a local Mexican restaurant and loved it. This recipe is very similar. I did add a little rice to it which was in the restaurant version and makes it a little heartier. I routinely cook whole chickens in my crockpot and debone and freeze the meat, mostly to use in soups. I used a pack of that instread of chicken breasts. Although better with fresh ingredients, an easy thing to do is use Ro-tel diced tomatoes with chilies and cilantro. Everyone in the family loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Berrier-Tate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have made this recipe several times. It is very good! I do not change a thing about the recipe. The only thing is I do not believe it would feed 6 people. Maybe 4 tops for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
excellent!! The only thing I did different was to use a rotisserie chicken...delicious, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States