Mexican Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Made this for my family tonight. They loved it! I did double the recipe and added two 15 oz cans black beans, drained well, and One 15 oz can kernel corn.I did season the chicken with some taco mix and sauteed with cover on till chicken was cooked (30 minutes on low). I added the beans and corn when the chicken and tomatoes are added. I did simmer longer than 5 minutes after adding these items. And we added a squeeze of lime when serving. We skipped the tortilla chips because we are dieting but will try them when we are not. Healthy and delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I love this soup. Per other reviews I use Melissa hong kong's taco seasoning, Rotel mild tomatoes, and add a little frozen corn. I think it is the cumin that makes it so delicious. I double the recipe so we can enjoy it for several days. I am dieting and serve this with a little chopped avocado and skip the grated cheese and tortilla chips for a healthy, satisfying soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Delicious! I added to the recipe, just what I like to do. I added some frozen corn and a can of black beans and diced carrots. I added diced boneless skinless chicken breast to the soup raw let it come to a boil and simmer about 45 minutes at the very end like I usually do when making soups. Served it with shredded cheddar, sour cream and diced jarred jalapeno. Also, tortilla chips for dipping. It reminds me of fajitas. I did not use packaged taco seasoning but just added cumin, paprika, onion powder, chilli powder and diced garlic to taste. My whole family loved it! I will make this again and again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Comment from hubby " This could be the best soup I have ever eaten." This equals the same soup served at our local Mexican restaurant.Thank you. love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Loved this! Made my own broth with chicken thighs. Layered the cheese and chips by putting 1 ladle of soup then the chips and cheese, then one more ladle of soup. Also used Rotel tomatoes with green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
My husband wants me to make a double batch every weekend so we can eat it everyday. We absolutely LOVED it! I did add a couple sliced jalapenos to the onions and celery when I fried them up and also a can of rinsed and drained white hominy but even without those additions it would've been fantastic. Oh yeah, I used low sodium broth and my own homemade taco seasoning but that probably doesn't change the flavor that much. Also smooshed up the tomatoes since I don't like chunky tomatoes in my food, but that's just me :) Would HIGHLY recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I started following this recipe and then as I read the reviews began to tweak it as I went. I left out the celery, just didn't seem to mix with the other ingredients. Also left out the cumin. I used 2 cans of chopped tomatoes with green chile in them. I added a jalapeno, black beans and pinto beans (rinse and drained), can of corn (drained), 2 cups salsa, can of tomato soup and water and then added hot chicken sausage. I was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I love this recipe. It was a bit too thin so I added a can of corn, half a can of chili beans, a can of green enchilada sauce, and 1/4 cup of rice. It was five stars after my add-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was great! I used chicken breast tenders, but I didn't bake them, I broiled them, and then shredded it. I added extra celery, cilantro, and onion (because I really like them), and bought extra avocados. You have to have the avocado! I didn't have any taco seasoning, but I did have Tinga seasoning. It's in the same section as the taco mix, but it's for chicken. It has a smokey, chipotle like flavor. Very good. The only thing I would change is using reduced sodium chicken broth. It was a bit too salty for my taste, but had no complaints for the bf. I'll be making this again! Yummmm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is a fast, tasty soup that can be enjoyed by all and cooked quickly and with simple staple ingredients found in most kitchens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States