Mexican Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
Yummy! The other recomendations for jalepeno and pepper jack cheese were right on! We were a bit concerned as to how hot the chicken was going to be when we were preparing it, but the heat was mellowed in the cooking process. We will add more pepper next time (we like spicy food). Also, ony used 1/2 the butter and it turned out just fine. We had a guest over and forgot to warn him of the toothpicks in the chicken. Nearly had a calamity...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
My favorite chicken recipe! I don't usually like chicken, but I found this recipe and thought I'd try it. I'm so glad I did! I've made this for my fiance and friends and everyone raves about it. I used monterrey jack pepper cheese and did not use the green chilis. Worked great! This also is a great recipe to make the night before and pop it in the oven the next day! Thanks Erin for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CGROVES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Excellent! I recommend more cheese in the middle, though, but my husband and love cheese! Might also be good with a little bit of cream cheese in the center, too. Great served with a salad and bread. Also, if you don't want to pound the chicken, try slicing it lengthwise and using the chicken breast like a pocket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Wow, this has some kick to it. I cook chicken often since I do not eat pork or beef, and I rarely find chicken recipes with enough flavor. This is definately the exception. Yum. However, I did make a few modifications to the original recipe...I found that I needed more green chiles than called for and I also used a mix of jalopeno cheese and reduced fat cheddar for the filling. I also added red pepper flakes to the crumb mix as well as additional cumin. Oh, I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Excellent!!!! I added my own kiev recipe and wanted to try a few of the other since they were so different. this one is wonderful! it has a totally unique flavor but it very good. this goes down in my recipe book. I used pepperjack for extra kick. this could be the best recipe i've tried off allrecipies so far. try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
OOOH so good!!! I love this and so does my family--- kids included. I didn't use cumin any time I have made this so far (didn't have) and still was just incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
WOW! Great dish, Erin!. I used two thin slices of jalopena pepper jack to each breast. Since I wanted to serve a slightly fattening sauce with this, I cut the butter and simply sprayed each breaded breast with butter flavored Pam. My favorite sauce with a southwestern flair is 1/2 cup nonfat sour cream, 1 cup Caesar salad dressing (I use Gerards), 1 1/2t cumin and 2t Taco seasoning (also from this site). Serve the sauce on the side. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Wow. This is wonderful as is, but hardly worthy of being called Mexican. I followed the recipe with one exception, I used pepper jack cheese for a little more kick. I also used 1/2 of an Anaheim chile in each chicken breast. (They were large breasts.) I intend to do this one again with a couple more modifications. I am going to double the cumin and add 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne to the bread crumbs. Then I will call it Mexican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Living In: Providence, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Excellent recipe. I didn't bother adding butter to the chicken. I just used shake n' bake to make a crispier outside. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I like this a lot... I would reccomend rubbing the spices on the whole chicken breast before stuffing it with your favorite cheese. Also for the last 5 minutes, put some grated cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States