Mexican Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
Quite tasty! Although there are a few other breaded chicken recipes that I like better, I will still make this one again. I spiced it up with pepperjack cheese in addition to the strips of jalapeno. I wasn't crazy about the jalapeno stripes, I might chop it up fner next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
This is an awesome recipe and has become a family favorite. My husband-the pickiest eater of the bunch-requests it at least once a month, and all of my kids love it as well(ages 18 mos. thru 10 years). It's really flavorful without being "spicy". When I'm in a hurry, I just pound the chicken breasts(I've also used thighs, which makes it really juicy), put diced chilies on one half, sprinkle with grated cheese, fold over, coat with bread crumb mixture, spray with nonstick cooking spray to help with browning, and bake as directed-without waiting the 1 hour. They don't look quite as pretty, but they take much less time and taste just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This is a favorite of my family, everyone wants to come for dinner when they know I'm making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This was wonderful! I did use diced green chilis and shredded mexican cheese (I had both in the house already), and it was perfect. I also added a little extra cumin, but it would have been fine the way the recipe had stated. Thanks I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I like this a lot... I would reccomend rubbing the spices on the whole chicken breast before stuffing it with your favorite cheese. Also for the last 5 minutes, put some grated cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Wow, this has some kick to it. I cook chicken often since I do not eat pork or beef, and I rarely find chicken recipes with enough flavor. This is definately the exception. Yum. However, I did make a few modifications to the original recipe...I found that I needed more green chiles than called for and I also used a mix of jalopeno cheese and reduced fat cheddar for the filling. I also added red pepper flakes to the crumb mix as well as additional cumin. Oh, I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
My favorite chicken recipe! I don't usually like chicken, but I found this recipe and thought I'd try it. I'm so glad I did! I've made this for my fiance and friends and everyone raves about it. I used monterrey jack pepper cheese and did not use the green chilis. Worked great! This also is a great recipe to make the night before and pop it in the oven the next day! Thanks Erin for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wildman Groves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Everyone loved this recipe Erin! When making this, don't make the same mistake I did and pound the chicken so hard that you make holes in it. Dopey me! The thickness of the cheese made the chicken a little difficult to roll and encase the filling, so next time I think I'll shred the cheese and chop the pepper. During the last fifteen minutes of baking, I made a mixture of salsa and sour cream and poured it over the chicken. The pepper jack cheese I used added just the right amount of heat and the sauce smoothed it all out. Thanks so much Erin for a very different kind of Kiev!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This was a very good dish. I followed suggestions from reviewers. Used pepper jack cheese, added crused red pepper to breadcrumbs and fresh romano as I had no parmesan cheese. A little more work than I thought but will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Excellent recipe. I didn't bother adding butter to the chicken. I just used shake n' bake to make a crispier outside. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States