Mexican Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great recipe except it was more like Mexican/Italian Chicken Kiev due to the Italian breadcrumbs and Parmesan cheese. Next time I plan to use regular bread crumbs and omit the Parmesan. I served this with traditional Mexican side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Yum, this is so good! I didn't have seasoned bread crumbs, so I used plain, and tossed some chile powder in with the cumin. Next time I make this I'll probably use fresh jalapenos just to see what the difference is. It has a mild bite, so if you're looking for something spicier use pepper jack cheese instead of plain jack. I served this with Refried Beans without the Refry (from this site) and corn. It was a great meal that I look forward to having again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I love this recipe... works really well halving & quartering as well! For rolling the chicken, I do suggest simply layering the peppers & cheese on top of the flattened chicken, then rolling up. I couldn't decipher the author's description for wrapping peppers around cheese, etc. The layering method worked really well. Oh, and I used LOTS more peppers than suggested. I recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This was good, but not "Let's make it again right away" great. My family thought more chile would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
These were pretty darn good. I didn't have any toothpics, so after I flattened the chicken I wrapped it all up like a roll up and just put the rolled side down in the dish - no problems with cheese melting out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I love this recipe and use it all the time. When I'm in a hurry I substitute pepper jack cheese instead of the green chiles and jack and it turns out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanlopez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. So easy to make and great tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
A little labor-intensive, but well worth it! If you like spicy food, up the chilis (when cooked, these come out pretty mild).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Absolutely fantastic!!! This was so good, and my husband LOVED it! The only thing I did differently was leave out the green chiles, because my husband doesn't like them. It still had plenty of flavor though. I cannot say enough good things about this dish. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was good. I did make a couple of changes. I though I had a can of green chilis but did not so I used fresh jalapenos, I always have them in the fridge. I also added some onion & garlic to the mixture. It turned out great. Next time I will have to try it with the green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States