Mexican Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
a nice twist to chicken breasts. i had 4 chicken breasts, so i roasted 4 anaheim peppers and peeled and used one for each breast. subbed pepperjack and rolled all together nice and tight so nothing leaked out during cooking. served with cilantro tomato corn salad and spanish rice. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
My husband made this for my birthday dinner and he followed it exactly. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
yowza!!! great entree, thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
YUMMO! This dish was fantastic. I made it for dinner last night and what a terrific flavor. I only used 6 thin sliced chicken breasts, 1 can of chopped green chiles, I used Pepper Jack cheese for an extra bite and used Panko Italian bread crumbs. I did not use any salt and used shredded Parmesan cheese. Will definitely make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
We really liked this-great twist on Chicken Kiev. I served with rice and beans, chips and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This turned out great even though I couldn't get the huge breasts pounded out thin without tearing them. I followed a suggestion and just used a whole chile and stuffed it with the cheese "log". I wanted to keep it somewhat healthy, so I sprayed the chicken with butter flavored Pam instead of drizzling with butter. Also, I ran out of time so I only refrigerated the breasts while the oven heated. The chicken was moist and delicious! A tiny bit of the cheese oozed out, but it was great, too! Thank you for a wonderful dish@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
My boyfriend loved this dish-he said it could be his birthday meal (annual favorite all time meal). I used velveeta and a small can of diced chiles (only made 3 breasts). I also used eggs instead of the butter and drizzled with olive oil. I did not refridgerate, but put the breasts right into the oven. I baked for the first 20 minutes with foil and then an additional 20 without. Some of the cheese did spill out, but I figured it was due to the velveeta and the fact that it easily melts. Overall, this was a great dish that i will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
The trick to rolling these without the cheese running everywhere is to cut the cheese and chile to fit your chicken. Don't over stuff! I skipped the step where you roll the cheese around the chile. Instead, I placed a strip of cheese on the chicken (largest end) and cut it to fit, leaving about 1/2" of room on each end so the sides would fold over the cheese. I layered cheese/chile/cheese. I folded the sides over and then rolled the chicken around the cheese and secured with toothpicks. The amount of cheese/chile you use will depend on the size of your chicken. Mine were small and I only used about half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Flavor wise, very good. But all that rolling, geez. I'll make it again, but I'll probably just throw everything on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Thank you for a wonderful easy and different recipe. I followed the directions and it came out great my hubby said this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States