Mexican Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This was a hit in my house. I did not use Italian bread crumbs since I did not have any. I just made my own. I added red pepper to the crumbs along with the salt and pepper. The crust on the outside was wonderful. I used Monterey Jack cheese and did not add the chili's, my husband does not like things too spicy. It turned out great. We will be trying this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Yum! This was super good. I read prior reviews regarding the cheese melting out. I left the chiles whole. I sliced off the top and put the cheese inside the chile, then wraped the chicken about the chile. I made sure the opening of the chile was closed off with the chicken and a toothpick. They came out perfect! I also had leftover chiles, so I used the same idea and put cheese in them, rolled in butter and bread crumbs and put in the oven with the chicken. It was a yummy side. This one is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I'd highly recommend using larger breasts for this recipe -- we fought with our little guys to get and keep them closed. I was tempted to toss the toothpicks and layer everything on top of the breasts and bake as is. I also used canned diced chilies and only half the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I made a few changes. I used Cheez-It Hot&Spicy crackers instead of the bread crumbs (also good with regular Cheez-Its). I also used canned chopped Chiles and changed the cheese to Cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This was pretty good, but I wouldn't recommend using the spaghetti noodles to secure the chicken, we didn't have any toothpicks so we used dry noodles as the recipe suggests but ours opened up while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Much better then I tought it would be. My husband also loved it. Served with spanish rice. Used pepper jack cheese. Even though I practically stapled it shut with toothpicks, the cheese still spilled out during baking. But I didnt mind becuase I love slightly burnt cheese! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
I used chile poblano because I don't like my dishes too hot. It turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
My husband liked this better than I did. I thought it was a bit bland. I used canned diced green chiles. All of the cheese ran out of my chicken breasts too. I would not recommend pouring the butter over the top -- it seemed to make the coating too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This was pretty good tasting chicken. The cheese leaked out and I used canned chopped chilles - which were fine. I made Mexican rice and refried beans as sides. Ole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Chicken was excellent. Will make again with different combinations inside. Could have left out the cumin altogether. Used plain breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States