Mexican Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Big hit in our family! They especially liked it more on the spicy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I truly loved this. . . What I did different was to use 1 tablespoon of chili powder (instead of 2), and 1 tablespoon of cumin (instead of 2). Prior to topping the dish with the beans, I added a small can of sliced black olives which I drained. I baked the dish at 350 for 1 1/2 hours covered with aluminum foil, I took off the foil and baked for 10 more minutes. I marinated the chicken breast the night before, just to bump up the chicken flavor. Put a teaspoon of sour cream on top of the dish for that added taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I changed this recipe quite a bit after reading the reviews and what others added or subtracted. I cut the cumin & chili to 1 tablespoon each and just 1 can of beans. I added chopped jalepeno,chopped onion & sliced olives. I cut the chicken in bite size cubes and simmered it for a few hours in my electric skillet. It turned out good, the chicken was very tender. I served it over rice with sour cream on top. Next time will grate some cheese to add on top also. My husband is not crazy about chicken & he even said it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilbitty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Fixed for my hubby who is diabetic, but a group of us ate it. Everyone loved it! Served with plain brown rice. Excellent meal even for non diabetic eaters! This recipe is a keeper! Hubby says plenty of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Excellent!! A keeper!! Made as stated but was short on salsa (mild) so added some fresh tomato, 1/2 jalapeno and 3 or 4 springs of cilantro. Was ready in 1 hour. Served over rice with some cubed avocado. Don't forget to spoon the sauce over your chicken and rice...SO, SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Don't bake for so long. I baked this for 45 min covered at 375 (as suggested by others) and then uncovered, sprinkled mexican blend cheese on the top and baked for another 10 min uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Excellent. Spicy. I add a bit of cayenne pepper to make it even spicier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This was delicious and super easy to make!! I too made changes like many others. I mixed the beans with the salsa mixture. Baked it uncovered at 350 for 1 hour. I sprinkled finely shredded Monterey jack and Colby cheese and chopped green onions on top and baked until cheese was melted. No other changes. I served it with white jasmine rice. So easy. I think this could be an excellent dish for Sunday football parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Very delicious recipe! So easy and makes chicken very moist and juicy. I did what other users said and mixed the beans and everything else together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenRioux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Simple, healthy and easily reduced for two people. I used a can of diced tomatoes and green chilies since I had no salsa, added in some diced sweet onion. I did marinate my chicken breast in the sauce for several hours before baking. I also reduced the amount of chili and cumin to our taste, added in some Mexican oregano. I baked for 50 min. at 375°, topped with some colby jack, chopped garden kale and sour cream. We will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States