Mexican Chicken and Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Very tasty. Added tortilla chips which gave the salad a different texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Okay so I love Mexican food!! If you are afraid of the fat from the tortilla chips or even the taco shells...this is the lean side. Although the we are not fans of the black beans, we substatuted a can of whole kernal corn. If you are not sure about using the chicken in this you can replace it for ground turkey. This recipe was overall the best Mexican makeover lean style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MD Brats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Barstow, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Very good! Filling for someone like me who is trying to lose weight. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I'm sure this recipe is delicious as written, but I didn't have any taco spices when I started to make it, so I improvised using rebel angels spices (from this site) and salsa instead of the tomato sauce. Also added about 1/4 c fresh cut up cilantro, a can of corn and a can of kidney beans drained & rinsed. It was very good and it made a 1 dish summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This salad is good with my additional changes. I cooked the sliced chicken on the store top with diced onion and minced garlic. When the chicken was almost done I added 1-14oz.can diced tomatos along with the toco mix. I also added 1/2 package frozen corn--heated through and dressed it with toppings. I served it on crispy romaine----yumie !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This was fantastic, and SO simple! It was also very healthy - people who are worried about sodium can just use low or no sodium ingredients (I did). I added diced red and green pepper and chopped cilantro - it made the dish perfect. It was also amazing how the presentation came out when you piled up the ingredients - looked like it came right out of a food magazine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was a huge hit with the family. I added a small can of Mexican Corn to the meal. I decided to mix the black beans and corn in a bowl and microwave for a minute. I used a chunky salsa instead of a traditional salsa dip (I found it next to the chip dip in the fridge area of the store). I used mild everything, which was fine with the family, but I sprinkled chili powder on mine to spice it up a bit. I also cubed up the chicken on the salad. I love these types of recipes where you can personalize them up like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Branch, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
My wife loved this recipe and said that it puts her taco salad recipe to shame. Secretly, I had to agree. This is remarkably simple to make, but you wouldn't know it from the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This is ok as written. Nothing special. Could use some tomatoes, cilantro, onion. Way too much sodium in this to be considered healthy eating. This contains a few days worth of sodium. To make it with less sodium, make your own taco seasoning, leaving out the salt and use low sodium beans. Frying the chicken even in olive oil does nothing to make the recipe any healthier. Has too many carbs for those trying to watch that part of their diet. It is tasty, of course, as written, just not healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassie
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I took the suggestions and added fresh cilantro to the sauce. Choose pico de gallo rather than salsa. I think the taco seasoning & tomato sauce was a bit much and would probably cut back next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States