Mexican Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I've made this several times and here is what I've learned. This tastes better the next day. Make sure the onions you use aren't too large, otherwise the onion can overpower everything else. Don't skimp on the cilantro, it really adds flavor. I think less onion, and more cucumbers and radishes is a good idea. Also -- don't wimp out and use squeeze lemon juice. The real thing is so much better. Also, if you are going to make this a lot, invest $20 in one of those Vidalia Onion Chopper thingies. It cuts your prep time in half -- at least. Plus, the thing is just fun to use. Point it away from you when chopping tomatoes though, otherwise you will look like an axe murderer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Loved this recipe and ceviche however I did make a few changes per my hubby's suggestions. (I am sure it is delicious as is but wanted to make the hubby happy!) For 8 servings I used 2 lbs. of cleaned and peeled medium size shrimp which I cut into 4 pieces. Due to more shrimp, I didn't have enough lemon juice to cover them so I added a half squirt bottle of lime juice. I used tomato/shrimp cocktail juice (instead of the tomato and clam juice) I omitted the radishes and used one large white onion and one large jalapeno. Since my hubby needs his spicy;but not super hot, I added a bit of sea salt and 1 tsp. of cayenne pepper and a tsp. of garlic granules. My neighbor always makes ceviche but hers is very basic and her shrimp are always kind of raw so I would pick them out and microwave them for a minute. The lemon/lime juice does a great job of cooking the shrimp pieces but I left them soaking in it for 3 hours before adding other ingredients. YUMMY!!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GareysGal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I cut the recipe down to 2 servings & I did decide to give my shrimp a rough chop. Like Caroline C. I added lime juice as well as lemon. I thickened it up a bit by giving it a squeeze of tomato paste & I added a tbp. or so of tequila. You couldn't really taste the tequila... it just tasted a bit richer & more complex. I served this in martini glasses rimmed w/ kosher salt (mostly for visual appeal) & lined w/ tortilla chips. Loved it...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I've made this ceviche a couple of times & got many compliments. I made the original & it was good. But the next times, I ommited the radishes & added 2 limes & 1 avacado. We love avacado! lol. I also didn't use jumbo shrimp to make it more tortilla friendly. The way we eat ceviche is, I toast whole tortillas in some oil & then, after they've cooled, spread some mayo in the tortilla, top it with ceviche & munch away. It's great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmcwf22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I knew this would be too spicy for me, but it was spot-on for Husband. I pretty much just eyeballed the ingredients, and I also added the juice of two small limes (you can't have ceviche without lime juice, imo). He thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
i would recommend leaving it in the frig for about three hours or more, blend garlic, serrano peppers with lime juice, add the radishes, tomatoes, cucumbers, cilantro, onions after the shrimp or fish is cooked through and garnish with avocados eat with tostadas and add some valentina hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
It was 100 degrees out and I was looking for a dish that wouldn't require my turning any heating element on. I found this ceviche recipe and, having never attempted making this, I have to say I was a bit nervous about it. OMG! This was the BEST ceviche I have ever had, hands down! We did substitute mahi mahi for the whitefish but otherwise we followed the recipe as was directed. I could live on this stuff. Healthy, low calorie and flavorful...what's better? Thanks for the excellent recipe. I have it laminated on my fridge and anticipate making it often throughout the hot summer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I got so many complements. The best part it is so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This is REALLY good, if you like Ceviche mexican style, youll love this recipe. i dont change anything, although it is a LOT better with shrimp than with anything else. my dad keeps asking for this like once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was Awesome! It did take quite a bit longer to turn the shrimp opaque then was written. My shrimp weren't that big and I marinated them overnight to get them "cooked" in the lemon/lime juice, They were worth the wait tho! Yum Even the MIL liked them, now That is saying something! Thanks for the great dish PhxGurl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States