Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I love this recipe so much I decided to add a few things to it to make it even better atleast IMO. I added ground beef with taco seasoning and substituted the jar of salsa with fresh avacado salsa from my local farmer's market. Loved it. I did find that the bottom layers tend to get soggy and that if you drain some of the liquid off the salsa it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Potts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made it with whole wheat tortillas to make it healthier. We really didn't enjoy it. Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was good. I used a enchilada sauce though and mixed it into the bean mix and layered the cheese inside and on top. I ts a good quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Quite good fast and easy meal. I used 11 (6inch) corn tortillas instead of the flour ones. I added 1 tbsp chili powder, 1 tsp cumin, 1 can diced green chilis, and a dash of oregano because I only had about 4/5 cup of salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
pretty tasty! didnt have salsa on hand, but did have green enchilada sauce so i used that. also mixed some canned corn in w/ beans, topped w/ black olives, and added some taco-seasoned TVP(textured veg protein) to each layer. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayfordlaura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Very authentic! Mine was not so pretty, it seemed a little messy when I tried to get it out of the pan. Very tasty though! I added a little taco seasoning and a can of drained diced tomatoes to the bean mixture. Served with Mexican Rice II from this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I agree that if adding onions they need to be sauteed before placing in the mixture. I sprinkled some taco seasoning on top of the bean layer. I added black olives and the first time I used peach salsa..blech!! The next time I used homemade salsa because I love cilantro. It was really good. My diabetic Mom was thrilled to have this because she could eat a lot and not use as much insulin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was pretty decent but certainly nothing exciting. I used about 1/4 Jack cheese and the rest cheddar. (I think Jack would be better but was running out.) I also used a cake pan instead of pie pan. (My tortillas were actually 9" so it fit perfectly.) Some sour cream on top would have been a nice addition but didn't have any. Apparently, unlike many, I don't always have the ingredients on hand. :) One person said there was too much refried bean, but I thought there was one too many tortillas because I had to spread everything very thin which was a bit of a pain. One good thing is that this heated up pretty well in a microwave for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I have been making a version of this casserole for years. I add to the layers whole kernal corn (drained/small can)...and sometimes black olives....and yes, lots of cheese...yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Yummy. Made this for dinner last night and just finished the leftovers for lunch! Served with yellow rice and it was deelish. I made my own refried beans (pinto beans, onion, garlic, chili powder, ground cumin, salt, and stock) and I added sour cream to each layer. Will be adding this to recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States