Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Best thing ever. My family loved it. The only thing I did was added some ground burger a mixed it with the refried beans. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cferreee91

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
we thought this was only okay. but we had to adjust slightly because of my gluten-free husband. I'm not sure how different this is from the various forms of layer dip. not particularly satisfying...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
My original reaction was to give this recipe a 3 bc it is good for what it is but nothing amazing however my hubbie said it was great and he went back for seconds so I will have to err on the side of 4 stars. VERY IMPORTANT - you really have to sauté the onion in a little oil for about five min before adding the beans otherwise you have raw crunchy onion in your dish. I added about 2 tsp of chili powder to the bean mix to give it some flavor and it was good but next time I will take the suggestion to add a pkg of taco seasoning. Next time I will also dress the top once it is finished with shredded lettuce, black olives, jalapeño slices extra salsa and sour cream. easy weekday but not dressy enough for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I found that I needed more beans than the recipe called for. This was good, but I would not suggest it as left-overs. The tortillas become really soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racheal.colleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Simple and delicious! I sauted the onions in a little oil, and didn't bother warming up the refried black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I found this very bland. It just taste like beans and cheese. Not a bad side dish just didnt wow me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
My husband loves it but I thought it was somehow too salty, too rich, and too bland. Maybe just a problem with this combination of brands of product used. I am open to trying this recipe again with either homemade beans or homemade salsa, as I am known to be overly sensitive to salt. Anyway, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
i really enjoyed this. I slightly changed it. I only had 3 tortillas left and used almost the whole can of beans for two layers. I didn't bother with the onions and didn't measure out the salsa of the cheese. Very good very cheap meal. Will make this again. Its just as good (if not better) then the meat version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I wasnt that impressed with this dish. Its a good concept but there wasnt anything to it. If I made it again I would def. add something more...fresh garlic...maybe some guacamole. Not horrible, but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was Really good! I followed the recipe almost exactly with the exception of adding Taco meat and putting cheese on every layer. My layers were, tortillas, bean mixture, meat, salsa, cheese. I served it topped with diced tomatoes and sour cream. My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States