Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I made this with my grandma when I went to visit her in Mexico, And I just fell in love with it. So this is my new favorite dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
We subbed in cooked beef/onion/taco mix for the refried beans. Really good. Squash each layer down firmly when making it, and let sit five minutes after pulling it out of the oven. TACO PIE. Ole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim and Oliver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I had to make some modifications but they were well worth it. Here's what you should consider: add 1 can corn and 1 can black beans; mix corn, black beans, salsa, sautéed onions, and refried beans in a large bowl before layering in the casserole dish; finish with a sprinkle of seasoning over all; finally bake until sides are bubbling. Serve with chips and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarnreed
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
So easy! I am not the best cook, so the more simple, less ingredients, the better! Got rave reviews from the uncle and the hubby! I did modify a little, I had about half pound of sloppy joe beef left and mixed that with the beans, adding some chili powder and a little cajun seasoning. Instead of salsa, I combined half a can of corn (drained) and mixed it with a can of Rotel (drained). I put the bean/beef mix, salsa and pieces of Velveeta on each tortilla, and topped it with some medium jar salsa and a lot of cheese! Served with a dollop of sour cream! YAY! Told to keep this one handy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Added some ground beef & spicy sausage w enchilada seasoning... perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was a good base recipe. I added spanish rice and taco meat. The picky family pigged out on this, I will be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frances Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I too added hamburger to the mixer. I would also suggest using a deep dish pie pan, the normal size doesn't work that well. In addition, you might want to add more cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
What a great idea! I too used what I had on hand. Had made a pot of pintos that included hot salsa, onions, garlic, corn, tomatoes, chorizo and spices. Drained two cups of the beans and used it as the filling. No need to saute. Used both Jack and Cheddar. A super time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This is so easy, and really a great meal. My husband would eat this every night if I let him. He always requests it. It works as a vegetarian meal, or can easily be adapted to satisfy the meat eaters just by adding cooked pork sausage, ground beef, shredded chicken, one whatever you had the night before. I like to put chopped tomatoes, guacamole, olives, peppers, sour cream, etc, out and let everyone add their own toppings to their plates. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States