Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Yum! Fast and easy. We used soy cheese and I added some rice to one layer(since we had leftovers), and it was filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Used medium salsa, red onion and red capsicum. Was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Well, I applaud any recipe that contains primarily good, healthy ingredients,especially if it is vegetarian! That said, I must add that this recipe could use some modifications. First, cooking the refried beans with the diced onion on medium-high heat for 5 minutes simply scorches the bottom of the pan while the onions remain virtually uncooked. And yes, I did stir. If the onions were first sauteed in a bit of oil and the beans were then added and heated through, this would give much better results. Second, the overall texture of the finished dish is quite mushy. It could stand some substance, maybe corn added.The taste was there, and the nutritional value, but we could use some changes to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
So easy and pretty good. I made it with red bell peppers, onions, and black beans. Also, spiced it up with cumin and chili powder as necessary. A really great base to get creative with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I doubled this, made 2, and froze one for my family to re-heat later... I also added black beans and used about 2x as much stuff for each one. Don't want to know what the calorie count on tht was... It would feed 4-5 of us, there were leftovers. I added extra onion for a kick. It was delicious! A huge hit with my sisters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by like10thousand

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
This is a fantastic, quick recipe. I didn't change a thing and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This was really good and we also topped with Louisiana Hot Sauce to give it more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I expected bland, but wanted something quick with ingredients I had, and this turned out quite nice. I added cumin and coriander to the beans and onions and sprinked chili powder over the whole thing before putting it in the oven. I really recommend adding at least the chili powder, it really helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
this recipe was ok, a little bland for my taste (even with good salsa). I would make this recipe again, but with modifications (i'm not really sure what!). But I do like the idea of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This was ok - good, but that's all. The directions aren't entirely clear, but anyone familiar with cooking will get the concept easily enough. This was good, but seemed like just an excuse to eat refried beans. I would add about two sliced or diced tomatoes to the concoction next time. It wasn't awful, but for 651 calories, I wanted it to be really, really yummy! Perhaps if, while you are making this, you think one can of beans is actually overkill, cut back. That is probably the problem - the beans overwhelmed the dish. But do make this as it is a great concept to create your own dish with other ingredients or variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States