Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This was really good and we also topped with Louisiana Hot Sauce to give it more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Very easy & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
Not being vegetarian, I warmed up some leftover taco-seasoned ground beef in a separate skillet and layered that over the beans in each repetition. Adding this, I ended up doing 2 complete layer repetitions and using fewer tortillas, less salsa and less cheese (used the packaged 4-cheese Mexican blend) than the recipe called for. I cut it just like a pie and topped each piece to be served with a spoonful of sour cream. It looked and smelled very appetizing and my family enjoyed it a lot, especially my 4 year old son. This was very easy, tasty, and it should be great for leftovers. Plus, I had all the ingredients on hand so it was convenient too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
My husband and I really like this dish. Very easy to make and very delicious. We hve already made it twice and will continue to have it on our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This couldn't be easier and it is very tasty, even the leftovers. I did add some minced garlic to the beans while I was warming them up in the pan. Cut like you would a piece of pie, add a spoonful of sour cream and you are good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
VERY good...sauteed onions and fresh garlic until tender and then added the refried beans to heat through and make it easy to spread. Made this with Spanish Rice II from this site for a nice, vegetarian meal (although we aren't vegetarians).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Wow this was a really good recipie and simple to make! I used low fat tortilla shells, reduced fat cheddar cheese and the most important part is to use fire roasted fresh salsa. For people that complained there wasn't much taste, fresh salsa makes a huge difference! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
AWESOME!! So much better than I ever expected! The inner tortillas stay soft, while the outer one crisps a little. I added garlic to the onion, and sauted both onion and garlic first before adding the beans, which I think is a good idea. I also added fresh cilantro to one layer inside and to the top, which looked great. My husband said "This is the best meal you've made." I have also made it for dinner parties, and someone always asks for the recipe. We will definitely make the Mexican Casserole again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
this recipe was ok, a little bland for my taste (even with good salsa). I would make this recipe again, but with modifications (i'm not really sure what!). But I do like the idea of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I expected bland, but wanted something quick with ingredients I had, and this turned out quite nice. I added cumin and coriander to the beans and onions and sprinked chili powder over the whole thing before putting it in the oven. I really recommend adding at least the chili powder, it really helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States