Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Very easy & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
Quick, easy, and delicious, plus I always have all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
Not being vegetarian, I warmed up some leftover taco-seasoned ground beef in a separate skillet and layered that over the beans in each repetition. Adding this, I ended up doing 2 complete layer repetitions and using fewer tortillas, less salsa and less cheese (used the packaged 4-cheese Mexican blend) than the recipe called for. I cut it just like a pie and topped each piece to be served with a spoonful of sour cream. It looked and smelled very appetizing and my family enjoyed it a lot, especially my 4 year old son. This was very easy, tasty, and it should be great for leftovers. Plus, I had all the ingredients on hand so it was convenient too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Very good, easy to make meal that was enjoyed by the family. I added minced garlic and 1 tsp. cumin to the beans. I think I might even add more cumin next time. A great meatless meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Nice quick & easy recipe. It is also good with ground turkey or chicken (if you like meat). ~ Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
This is okay because it is so simple and easy to make. Kind of a boring flavor, but that is to be expected from the few ingredients. If you use a good quality chunky salsa, you can omit the onion, but remember to bake it longer if you won't be heating up the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
My husband and I really like this dish. Very easy to make and very delicious. We hve already made it twice and will continue to have it on our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This couldn't be easier and it is very tasty, even the leftovers. I did add some minced garlic to the beans while I was warming them up in the pan. Cut like you would a piece of pie, add a spoonful of sour cream and you are good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
VERY good...sauteed onions and fresh garlic until tender and then added the refried beans to heat through and make it easy to spread. Made this with Spanish Rice II from this site for a nice, vegetarian meal (although we aren't vegetarians).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Wow this was a really good recipie and simple to make! I used low fat tortilla shells, reduced fat cheddar cheese and the most important part is to use fire roasted fresh salsa. For people that complained there wasn't much taste, fresh salsa makes a huge difference! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States