Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I have made this twice and both times it was fabulous. First time I used refried black beans and they actually made it stick together a little better. I also used onion powder instead of onions and it was just fine. Sure saved on time. Second time I added shredded chicken with taco seasoning and it was also delicious. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I have made this at least a dozen times now, in fact I've got some in the oven at this very moment! It's my favourite thing to make when I have no idea what to make, as I usually have the ingredients on-hand. I use reconstituted dehydrated refried beans from my food storage, and usually add some ground beef to give it a little more oomph. Fresh cilantro is a nice touch if you happen to have it around. Everybody says "yay!" when I serve it, and that's saying a lot with 3 little kids and a picky husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was very good, pleased everyone from 7-40+. We made 3, with a few variations to each one. We have a Celiac in the house and it was very very easy to modify for her diet. We also have one on Weight Watchers and it was very easy to modify for a lo cal/lo fat diet. I'm making it again today because it was requested by my daughter for her birthday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I really enjoyed this! Easy to make and easy to make your own. I used whole wheat tortillas and sauteed the onion and some chopped peppers first, then added the refried beans. As others I added taco seasoned ground beef. I am a total wuss when it comes to seasonings so I used mild salsa and it was really quite good. :) Even my toddler ate it happily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was a really simple dish with lots of opportunities for modifications. Because of it's simple base, feel free to add things in like diced green chilies, olives, and cilantro during the layering process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deric

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
pretty good - great for makeaheads
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aransas Pass, Texas, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
As suggested by other reviewers, I added cumin & 1 clove of garlic to the bean/onion mixture. I also added corn to cut down on the amount of cheese and to give the dish texture and sweetness. My family enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made this with a couple layers of ground beef because I need more protein than the recipe has. All I have to say is...don't forget the Beano when you're shopping for the ingredients of this dish! All kidding aside, the recipe is good but kind of bland. I would spice it up by adding a lot more components if I make it again. However, the leftovers have been sitting in the fridge for almost a week with no takers other than myself, so it's not going on the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I added a layer of guacamole (mashed avocado and lemon juice) mixed with sour cream and it enhanced the overall taste. I found it to be a little bit soggy and next time I will probably add some tortilla chips on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I omitted the onion and added some black olives, corn, cumin and chili powder. Topped with sour cream and served with chips. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick and easy dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican f

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States