Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Was looking for a recipe to use up my 'refried beans without the refry' that i made the other night and came across this recipe. Happen to have everything on hand so i made it. It was very good. Tasted just like a bean and cheese burrito which i love but a healthy version. I used 2% shredded cheese and of course AR's 'refried beans without the refry' recipe which is very healthy and tasty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
The family loved it! Best with plenty of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Quick and easy. Great vegetarian meal. I added rice mixed with taco seasoning as an added layer. I topped the final layer of cheese with sliced olives before baking and added chopped lettuce and sour cream before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Very quick and easy. Most of the ratings that gave this recipe 4 or 5 stars made modifications. Making the recipe as is is 3 stars. Definitely edible. It's biggest selling point is the ease and the readily available ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Great week night meal, quick and easy prep and clean up! You can certainly include any of your favorite additions such as sliced black olives, bell peppers or hot peppers(or use super chunky or spicy salsa). Fantastic recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
my husband took this to work and everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Using the others suggestions I put cumin, chili powder, and garlic in as I sauteed a medium onion. The can of refried beans I used didn't have much salt so I added some to taste. When the refried beans were fully seasoned with the onions they were delicious! I used one less tortilla (it seemed big enough to me) and HERDEZ salsa. This is the best jar salsa you can by in the west!!! It is a little more watery than the most but tastes so authentic. I cooked for the full 20 mins putting green onions on top at 15 mins. Very easy to spice up recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I have made this twice and both times it was fabulous. First time I used refried black beans and they actually made it stick together a little better. I also used onion powder instead of onions and it was just fine. Sure saved on time. Second time I added shredded chicken with taco seasoning and it was also delicious. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I have made this at least a dozen times now, in fact I've got some in the oven at this very moment! It's my favourite thing to make when I have no idea what to make, as I usually have the ingredients on-hand. I use reconstituted dehydrated refried beans from my food storage, and usually add some ground beef to give it a little more oomph. Fresh cilantro is a nice touch if you happen to have it around. Everybody says "yay!" when I serve it, and that's saying a lot with 3 little kids and a picky husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was very good, pleased everyone from 7-40+. We made 3, with a few variations to each one. We have a Celiac in the house and it was very very easy to modify for her diet. We also have one on Weight Watchers and it was very easy to modify for a lo cal/lo fat diet. I'm making it again today because it was requested by my daughter for her birthday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States