Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was good. I used a enchilada sauce though and mixed it into the bean mix and layered the cheese inside and on top. I ts a good quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Quite good fast and easy meal. I used 11 (6inch) corn tortillas instead of the flour ones. I added 1 tbsp chili powder, 1 tsp cumin, 1 can diced green chilis, and a dash of oregano because I only had about 4/5 cup of salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
pretty tasty! didnt have salsa on hand, but did have green enchilada sauce so i used that. also mixed some canned corn in w/ beans, topped w/ black olives, and added some taco-seasoned TVP(textured veg protein) to each layer. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayfordlaura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Very authentic! Mine was not so pretty, it seemed a little messy when I tried to get it out of the pan. Very tasty though! I added a little taco seasoning and a can of drained diced tomatoes to the bean mixture. Served with Mexican Rice II from this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I agree that if adding onions they need to be sauteed before placing in the mixture. I sprinkled some taco seasoning on top of the bean layer. I added black olives and the first time I used peach salsa..blech!! The next time I used homemade salsa because I love cilantro. It was really good. My diabetic Mom was thrilled to have this because she could eat a lot and not use as much insulin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was pretty decent but certainly nothing exciting. I used about 1/4 Jack cheese and the rest cheddar. (I think Jack would be better but was running out.) I also used a cake pan instead of pie pan. (My tortillas were actually 9" so it fit perfectly.) Some sour cream on top would have been a nice addition but didn't have any. Apparently, unlike many, I don't always have the ingredients on hand. :) One person said there was too much refried bean, but I thought there was one too many tortillas because I had to spread everything very thin which was a bit of a pain. One good thing is that this heated up pretty well in a microwave for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I have been making a version of this casserole for years. I add to the layers whole kernal corn (drained/small can)...and sometimes black olives....and yes, lots of cheese...yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Yummy. Made this for dinner last night and just finished the leftovers for lunch! Served with yellow rice and it was deelish. I made my own refried beans (pinto beans, onion, garlic, chili powder, ground cumin, salt, and stock) and I added sour cream to each layer. Will be adding this to recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Awesome! My family loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Swinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Awesome, easy recipe. Very versatile. We completely omitted the onions. You can change the salsa for rotel, add thinly sliced beef or chicken, extra whole black or pinto beans, etc. The possibilities make this recipe an easy dinner plan with little to no planning required. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States