Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Simple and delicious! I sauted the onions in a little oil, and didn't bother warming up the refried black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I found this very bland. It just taste like beans and cheese. Not a bad side dish just didnt wow me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
My husband loves it but I thought it was somehow too salty, too rich, and too bland. Maybe just a problem with this combination of brands of product used. I am open to trying this recipe again with either homemade beans or homemade salsa, as I am known to be overly sensitive to salt. Anyway, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
i really enjoyed this. I slightly changed it. I only had 3 tortillas left and used almost the whole can of beans for two layers. I didn't bother with the onions and didn't measure out the salsa of the cheese. Very good very cheap meal. Will make this again. Its just as good (if not better) then the meat version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I wasnt that impressed with this dish. Its a good concept but there wasnt anything to it. If I made it again I would def. add something more...fresh garlic...maybe some guacamole. Not horrible, but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was Really good! I followed the recipe almost exactly with the exception of adding Taco meat and putting cheese on every layer. My layers were, tortillas, bean mixture, meat, salsa, cheese. I served it topped with diced tomatoes and sour cream. My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
i thought it was okay, husband loved it, so we landed on 4 stars. I'll be making again (very easy) but adding some extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pinon Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
i love refried beans..but i thought it was WAY too much onion..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This is a very good starter recipe. I only give it 4 stars, because I used it as just that, a starter recipe. I like a crunch to my burrito casseroles, and therefore I fried my flour tortillas before using them. I sauted onion in olive oil until translucent, then added the beans, and a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper. I only had 2 tortillas, so I put a generous layer of beans on top of one tortilla, topped with cheese, added the other tortilla, put remaining beans and cheese on top. Baked at 350 for about 10 minutes, and then topped with salsa. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenMama88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This recipe is really easy, makes for good leftovers and my boyfriend LOVED it. Modified slightly to our tastes by adding jalepenos and black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States