Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
i thought it was okay, husband loved it, so we landed on 4 stars. I'll be making again (very easy) but adding some extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pinon Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
i love refried beans..but i thought it was WAY too much onion..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This is a very good starter recipe. I only give it 4 stars, because I used it as just that, a starter recipe. I like a crunch to my burrito casseroles, and therefore I fried my flour tortillas before using them. I sauted onion in olive oil until translucent, then added the beans, and a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper. I only had 2 tortillas, so I put a generous layer of beans on top of one tortilla, topped with cheese, added the other tortilla, put remaining beans and cheese on top. Baked at 350 for about 10 minutes, and then topped with salsa. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenMama88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This recipe is really easy, makes for good leftovers and my boyfriend LOVED it. Modified slightly to our tastes by adding jalepenos and black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
very good& easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Absolutely delicious! My husband loved it. It will definitely become a regular dinner in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsnicolebrooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was so easy to make and so good, I didn't even miss the lack of meat. I'm not a vegetarian, but my very picky eater of a daughter is and we both loved it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I threw 6 tortillas on the griddle a moment with a tiny bit of oil to crisp 'em up a bit then layered three on the bottom of a well greased cast iron skillet. Then I sautéed a small onion, 1/4c chopped green pepper and 2 clv garlic. Added the can of beans and 1/4c or so water, few dashes salt and hot sauce for flavor. I spread this mix on the tortillas, added sliced avocado, then a layer of salsa, a layer of chopped lettuce, and shredded cheddar. Put three more torts on and added the rest of the bean mix, more salsa and more cheese. Pulled her outta the oven after 15 minutes. note: the longer she cools the easier she is to cut- be patient! served with a dollop of sour cream and some fire sauce from taco bell. mm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Very easy! I wasn't sure how this would turn out. I sauteed the onion before I added the beans. I also added meat seasoned with taco seasoning from a previous post. I did everything else exactly as the recipe says. I used a spicier salsa which gave it just the right amount of zing. I thought with the added meat gave it just what it needed! The family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I love this recipe so much I decided to add a few things to it to make it even better atleast IMO. I added ground beef with taco seasoning and substituted the jar of salsa with fresh avacado salsa from my local farmer's market. Loved it. I did find that the bottom layers tend to get soggy and that if you drain some of the liquid off the salsa it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breizze13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States