Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I use the same ingredients, but make refried bean enchiladas from them. I always taste the beans before assembling to be sure they're well seasoned. If not, I add some chili powder, cumin, and cayenne to taste or whatever else they seem to need to give the beans more flavor, then serve with sour cream and diced avocado, tomato, and sliced green onions. Bland, poorly seasoned vegan or vegetarian dishes are always rejected at our house, so when I do veggie the herbs, spices, and condiments are always bumped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I thought it was great, and it made many meals. Instead of refried beans, I used kidney and white beans. Next time I think I'll add some chili powder for a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Pretty good,and very fast and easy. I added meat also. Everyone but my 5 year old daughter liked it...but she liked helping make it =) Yep...it's that easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Maxwell
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Just not a ton of "wow" flavor. Was good, but nothing special- needs more seasoning. I did half with ground, seasoned beef and that wasn't a ton better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I added shreaded chicken, black pepper, and substituted the diced onion for french fried onions. It turned out really well. I'll make it again...may add some peppers too the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I really enjoyed this, it is sort of all one texture which I know is off-putting to some, but if you don't mind a kind of soft uni-textured meal (which I really enjoy) then this is wonderful. I did sautee some broccoli with a little bit of taco seasoning and added it to the layering just to increase the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
My 2 young boys ate this right up! Really easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
this was so good, and super filling. I did what others suggested and sauted some onions and garlic first, then added to the beans. Use good salsa not paste picante sauce. Salsa with good ingredients makes it taste so much better. I sprinkled some chili powder on top and it was awesome! great little recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Best thing ever. My family loved it. The only thing I did was added some ground burger a mixed it with the refried beans. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cferreee91

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
we thought this was only okay. but we had to adjust slightly because of my gluten-free husband. I'm not sure how different this is from the various forms of layer dip. not particularly satisfying...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States