Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sarnreed
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
So easy! I am not the best cook, so the more simple, less ingredients, the better! Got rave reviews from the uncle and the hubby! I did modify a little, I had about half pound of sloppy joe beef left and mixed that with the beans, adding some chili powder and a little cajun seasoning. Instead of salsa, I combined half a can of corn (drained) and mixed it with a can of Rotel (drained). I put the bean/beef mix, salsa and pieces of Velveeta on each tortilla, and topped it with some medium jar salsa and a lot of cheese! Served with a dollop of sour cream! YAY! Told to keep this one handy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Added some ground beef & spicy sausage w enchilada seasoning... perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was a good base recipe. I added spanish rice and taco meat. The picky family pigged out on this, I will be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frances Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I too added hamburger to the mixer. I would also suggest using a deep dish pie pan, the normal size doesn't work that well. In addition, you might want to add more cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
What a great idea! I too used what I had on hand. Had made a pot of pintos that included hot salsa, onions, garlic, corn, tomatoes, chorizo and spices. Drained two cups of the beans and used it as the filling. No need to saute. Used both Jack and Cheddar. A super time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This is so easy, and really a great meal. My husband would eat this every night if I let him. He always requests it. It works as a vegetarian meal, or can easily be adapted to satisfy the meat eaters just by adding cooked pork sausage, ground beef, shredded chicken, one whatever you had the night before. I like to put chopped tomatoes, guacamole, olives, peppers, sour cream, etc, out and let everyone add their own toppings to their plates. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I made this for a large gathering. I do not use canned beans and I make my own refried beans salsa. I also used seasoned taco meat that included bell pepper, jalapeno's, onions, and garlic. I layered it like a lasagna.I made one with cheese and on without because I have friend who are allergic. It was a hit and has been requested quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is a nice, simple meal. If you want to kick it up a notch try adding hamburger and fried rice; this helps it a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I use the same ingredients, but make refried bean enchiladas from them. I always taste the beans before assembling to be sure they're well seasoned. If not, I add some chili powder, cumin, and cayenne to taste or whatever else they seem to need to give the beans more flavor, then serve with sour cream and diced avocado, tomato, and sliced green onions. Bland, poorly seasoned vegan or vegetarian dishes are always rejected at our house, so when I do veggie the herbs, spices, and condiments are always bumped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States