Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is the easiest dish ever. Tastes great everyone loved it! I'll add some burger next time too. Add some lettuce tomatoes and avocado for a topper, some Spanish rice for a side and you have a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I had some leftover pico de gallo to use up and used it instead of salsa. We loved this, though we deviated from the basic concept somewhat. Like other reviewers, I modified the ingredients and seasonings to include corn, cumin, cilantro and garlic. I also substitued black beans for refried beans and added ground beef, all of which I simmered while toasting the tortillas, as suggested by another reviewer to avoid a soggy texture. Served with sour cream and heartily enjoyed by the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I am determined to use up what is in our pantry & fridge, so was delighted when I saw this. (I have that..& that... ooo & that, too!) Used a springform pan to make removal easier. Pizza cutter worked great, BTW. Used idea of letting it rest for a few after baking. Also sauteed the onion prior to adding the beans. Used cheddar & pepper jack. Had some pretty wild salsa hiding in the pantry. My husband, raised in So Cal, loves Mexican or Mexican-style food, so this goes on the list of "keepers". We had sour cream & black olives on the side, because I am CLEANING OUT THE PANTRY AND THE FRIDGE! Loved it. Will make again. Will also use suggestions to play with this recipe, but it's great as it is. Thanks, Annie! Rockin' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Delicious and simple and flexible. For my non-vegetarian family, I added ground beef seasoned with taco seasonings as a layer between the beans and the salsa. Also, we always substitute mashed pinto beans for refried beans (healthier). Otherwise, followed the recipe. Please forgive me for not making it exactly as written first - I usually do before reviewing - but I know my meat-loving family would reject it without meat. (Once a week egg night is as close to a compromise as we can work out.). Husband said to add to the rotation. I loved how simple it was. Could easily assemble and place in my oven with the program feature set to cook while at dance or soccer practices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I've bean making this for years. I also brown & drain a lb of ground beef, and add a can of enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Really, really good! And not blank at all! The casserole looks exactly as the picture. Comfort food at is best! So good with some sour cream on the side. Will certainly do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I made this with my grandma when I went to visit her in Mexico, And I just fell in love with it. So this is my new favorite dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
We subbed in cooked beef/onion/taco mix for the refried beans. Really good. Squash each layer down firmly when making it, and let sit five minutes after pulling it out of the oven. TACO PIE. Ole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim and Oliver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I had to make some modifications but they were well worth it. Here's what you should consider: add 1 can corn and 1 can black beans; mix corn, black beans, salsa, sautéed onions, and refried beans in a large bowl before layering in the casserole dish; finish with a sprinkle of seasoning over all; finally bake until sides are bubbling. Serve with chips and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States