Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
So easy and pretty good. I made it with red bell peppers, onions, and black beans. Also, spiced it up with cumin and chili powder as necessary. A really great base to get creative with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I doubled this, made 2, and froze one for my family to re-heat later... I also added black beans and used about 2x as much stuff for each one. Don't want to know what the calorie count on tht was... It would feed 4-5 of us, there were leftovers. I added extra onion for a kick. It was delicious! A huge hit with my sisters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by like10thousand

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
This is a fantastic, quick recipe. I didn't change a thing and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This was really good and we also topped with Louisiana Hot Sauce to give it more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I expected bland, but wanted something quick with ingredients I had, and this turned out quite nice. I added cumin and coriander to the beans and onions and sprinked chili powder over the whole thing before putting it in the oven. I really recommend adding at least the chili powder, it really helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
this recipe was ok, a little bland for my taste (even with good salsa). I would make this recipe again, but with modifications (i'm not really sure what!). But I do like the idea of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This was ok - good, but that's all. The directions aren't entirely clear, but anyone familiar with cooking will get the concept easily enough. This was good, but seemed like just an excuse to eat refried beans. I would add about two sliced or diced tomatoes to the concoction next time. It wasn't awful, but for 651 calories, I wanted it to be really, really yummy! Perhaps if, while you are making this, you think one can of beans is actually overkill, cut back. That is probably the problem - the beans overwhelmed the dish. But do make this as it is a great concept to create your own dish with other ingredients or variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Very easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I made this for a quick and easy supper. I made a few additions. Like other users I added 2 cloves of minced garlic to the onion and sauted them both in oil bofore adding the beans. I also added 2 tsp. of taco seasoning to the bean. I ended up using 1/4 of the bean mixture per layer because I had 4 layers...I let the casserole rest for 5 minutes so it would stay together. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Great and very easy recipe. Next time I will probably add ground beef, just to make it a little more substantial. My husband and I both enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States