Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
The basic idea of this recipe is great, but I modified it to take advantage of what I had in my 'fridge, and to reduce the quantity to serve just two. I sauteed a small chopped onion in olive oil and added ground cumin, ground coriander, and chili powder. I let it simmer until the onions turned translucent. Next I added a can of drained black beans and half a can of drained corn. Then a large chopped tomato and about two tablespoons of freshly cut cilantro. After tasting it, I added some tobasco to give it more "zing". I let the mixture simmer on low for about 25 minutes, to give a "refried" texture. Then I compiled the casserole in a meatloaf pan -- using two 6" corn tortillas on the bottom of the pan, topped with half the bean recipe, then about half a cup of low fat "4 Cheese Mexican Mix", and I repeated it with another two 6" corn tortillas, the bean mixture, and about a cup of the cheese. I covered the pan with tin foil and backed for 30 minutes. If I were to do this again, I'd add a little tequila to the bean mix and a little bittersweet chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was good, it's an open bean burrito more or less. I used the whole onion and cooked it in a little butter, then added the beans and salsa. Then made layers of tortilla, bean mixture and cheese. Also threw in some jalapenos. This could be added to with ground beef, corn, black beans etc. But with just this basic recipe it was good, and each bite was better and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was pretty good. I added less chicken and replaced chile beans for refried beans. Next time I'll add less sour cream and less salsa. It was kind of runny, but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was just ok for me. I made a lot of changes, which gave it a lot of flavor, but I still just was not impressed. I definitely prefer traditional Mexican food, and this recipe just does not fit the bill. On the plus side, it was easy and fast to make, and my husband really liked it. But I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYNBRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This was good, although I thought it needed a little more zing. I used really good salsa from our favorite Mexican restaurant and I think next time I'll add some seasoned beef. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIED59

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
great idea!! can change to fit any taste. quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Pretty bland and didn't find the way it was put together anything special. I found it soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Yum! Fast and easy. We used soy cheese and I added some rice to one layer(since we had leftovers), and it was filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Used medium salsa, red onion and red capsicum. Was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Well, I applaud any recipe that contains primarily good, healthy ingredients,especially if it is vegetarian! That said, I must add that this recipe could use some modifications. First, cooking the refried beans with the diced onion on medium-high heat for 5 minutes simply scorches the bottom of the pan while the onions remain virtually uncooked. And yes, I did stir. If the onions were first sauteed in a bit of oil and the beans were then added and heated through, this would give much better results. Second, the overall texture of the finished dish is quite mushy. It could stand some substance, maybe corn added.The taste was there, and the nutritional value, but we could use some changes to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States