Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I made this recipe using black beans mixed with mild diced green chiles. I put shredded cheddar in each layer and topped the whole thing with enchilada sauce (make sure the pan doesn't overflow!) and a little more cheese. Yum! The sliced layers looked like lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Very good and easy to assemble- I added black beans and corn and only used four torillas. In a previous review it said to saute onions first then add the refried beans- this worked well. I will definitley make this again- maybe with chicken or beef and some fresher veggies like green peppers. I assembled this early in the day and then just popped it in the oven at dinner time -which is great during that evening rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was fast, it was easy, and very enjoyable. I did not have a pie pan so I used a square baking dish and just used two tortillas to make a layer. I ended up having to use two cans of refried beans since it was a bigger dish. I added a thin layer of beans on the top layer of tortillas with salsa and EXTRA cheese. It was great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
We LOVE this recipe. Some of us are vegetarians so, we used Mexican seasoned TVP and just added it in as a layer. I can not remember the last time all 7 if us just loved a recipe. All the kids say this one is a "super keeper!" Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
The basic idea of this recipe is great, but I modified it to take advantage of what I had in my 'fridge, and to reduce the quantity to serve just two. I sauteed a small chopped onion in olive oil and added ground cumin, ground coriander, and chili powder. I let it simmer until the onions turned translucent. Next I added a can of drained black beans and half a can of drained corn. Then a large chopped tomato and about two tablespoons of freshly cut cilantro. After tasting it, I added some tobasco to give it more "zing". I let the mixture simmer on low for about 25 minutes, to give a "refried" texture. Then I compiled the casserole in a meatloaf pan -- using two 6" corn tortillas on the bottom of the pan, topped with half the bean recipe, then about half a cup of low fat "4 Cheese Mexican Mix", and I repeated it with another two 6" corn tortillas, the bean mixture, and about a cup of the cheese. I covered the pan with tin foil and backed for 30 minutes. If I were to do this again, I'd add a little tequila to the bean mix and a little bittersweet chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was good, it's an open bean burrito more or less. I used the whole onion and cooked it in a little butter, then added the beans and salsa. Then made layers of tortilla, bean mixture and cheese. Also threw in some jalapenos. This could be added to with ground beef, corn, black beans etc. But with just this basic recipe it was good, and each bite was better and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was pretty good. I added less chicken and replaced chile beans for refried beans. Next time I'll add less sour cream and less salsa. It was kind of runny, but still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was just ok for me. I made a lot of changes, which gave it a lot of flavor, but I still just was not impressed. I definitely prefer traditional Mexican food, and this recipe just does not fit the bill. On the plus side, it was easy and fast to make, and my husband really liked it. But I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYNBRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This was good, although I thought it needed a little more zing. I used really good salsa from our favorite Mexican restaurant and I think next time I'll add some seasoned beef. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNIED59

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
great idea!! can change to fit any taste. quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States