Mexican Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
awesome recipe. I sauted a lot of peppers and onions in fajita seasoning, and sauted chicken to make it a hearty meal! (and if we have avocados, I make some guacamole to go with it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is my first review, and I'm only writing because I think I made some decent modifications to share with others. If you like crunchy onions in a quick hors d'oeuvre, this is okay. But as a meal, I made some changes: saute'ed onions and a touch of minced garlic in olive oil till transparent. Added the beans, a 1/2 c or so of salsa, and a can of diced chilies. Seasoned with cilantro, cumin, and chili powder, before cooking for a few more on medium-low heat (it sticks!!!) Used this mixture as a base, layered fresh spinach leaves, home made salsa, and cheese before adding the next layer. So far so good. It could have used some crunch, as other readers suggested. Corn, perhaps, or maybe a well-seasoned cast iron pan for cooking. A person could probably even break up some tortilla chips lightly and throw them in a layer for crunch. Guacamole and salsa are great accompaniments. Thanks for a good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Algonac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The whole family loved this! It's great just the way it is, or as a starter recipe. One time my husband made some chicken with taco seasoning and added it to a layer...very good. He also added spanish rice once and it was very good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I really liked this...I dunked each tortilla in enchilada sauce for a little more flavor and added a corn layer. It was very mushy almost soupy but I think it's good that way. It would be great to serve topped with shredded lettuce, diced tomatoes and sour cream. Next time I'll add a can of green chilis in with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
the only thing i would recommend is serving this with a side of sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberlee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I made this recipe using black beans mixed with mild diced green chiles. I put shredded cheddar in each layer and topped the whole thing with enchilada sauce (make sure the pan doesn't overflow!) and a little more cheese. Yum! The sliced layers looked like lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Very good and easy to assemble- I added black beans and corn and only used four torillas. In a previous review it said to saute onions first then add the refried beans- this worked well. I will definitley make this again- maybe with chicken or beef and some fresher veggies like green peppers. I assembled this early in the day and then just popped it in the oven at dinner time -which is great during that evening rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was fast, it was easy, and very enjoyable. I did not have a pie pan so I used a square baking dish and just used two tortillas to make a layer. I ended up having to use two cans of refried beans since it was a bigger dish. I added a thin layer of beans on the top layer of tortillas with salsa and EXTRA cheese. It was great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bri O'Leary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edinburgh, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
We LOVE this recipe. Some of us are vegetarians so, we used Mexican seasoned TVP and just added it in as a layer. I can not remember the last time all 7 if us just loved a recipe. All the kids say this one is a "super keeper!" Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
The basic idea of this recipe is great, but I modified it to take advantage of what I had in my 'fridge, and to reduce the quantity to serve just two. I sauteed a small chopped onion in olive oil and added ground cumin, ground coriander, and chili powder. I let it simmer until the onions turned translucent. Next I added a can of drained black beans and half a can of drained corn. Then a large chopped tomato and about two tablespoons of freshly cut cilantro. After tasting it, I added some tobasco to give it more "zing". I let the mixture simmer on low for about 25 minutes, to give a "refried" texture. Then I compiled the casserole in a meatloaf pan -- using two 6" corn tortillas on the bottom of the pan, topped with half the bean recipe, then about half a cup of low fat "4 Cheese Mexican Mix", and I repeated it with another two 6" corn tortillas, the bean mixture, and about a cup of the cheese. I covered the pan with tin foil and backed for 30 minutes. If I were to do this again, I'd add a little tequila to the bean mix and a little bittersweet chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenmoriah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States